Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very good; I didn't add tomatoes, just potatoes, carrots and some celery. Some of the family doesn't care for gravy so I left the gravy as optional! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I was hopeful in finding this short ribs that did not include marination. The meat was tender, so in that sense it was a success. I feel the aromatics were overpowered by the prevalent beefyness. The instructions would benefit from adding "silverskin removed" somewhere in the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYT21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
In the end, this just had too much fat for hubby and me. Even cooking the meat partially the first night so I could de-grease it wasn't enough to make it work for us. Also, for us it tasted more like the stew I make with leftover pot roast. So, we'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. It was one of my favorite new finds in the last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FTBLOSU

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It tasted like my grandmothers pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very Good. Better the next day. I skimmed alot of fat off after being in the fridge. The meat was very tender and flavorful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband and kids loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Stetson, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Made around christmas time. Good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my Wife and a friend who was visiting last night. I made a few changes which worked well. I omitted the seasoned flour as I wanted browned meat and not browned flour. I obviously used less ribs - just over a pound in fact. I also used olive oil. After browning well, I added a whole head of chopped garlic and half the onions. I then covered the meat in water after adding : Salt and pepper, 2 bay leaves, a sprig of parsley, a little oregano, Italian seasoning, Worcester sauce and some (2 tbsps) of Razon Liquid seasoning. I also gave it a bit of 'BAM' by putting 2 whole tiny jalapeno peppers in. After simmering for one hour I removed these. I then simmered for another hour. I then removed the ribs and strained the remaining liquid and put the gravy into a fat separator. After removing the Parsley, Bay leaves and discarding the now separated fat, I put everything back in the pot. Before dinner, I reheated the Ribs and when boiling I added the potatoes, rest of the onion and the carrots. Result : Absolutely delicious. I certainly will be doing it again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States