Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very good; I didn't add tomatoes, just potatoes, carrots and some celery. Some of the family doesn't care for gravy so I left the gravy as optional! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I was hopeful in finding this short ribs that did not include marination. The meat was tender, so in that sense it was a success. I feel the aromatics were overpowered by the prevalent beefyness. The instructions would benefit from adding "silverskin removed" somewhere in the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYT21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
In the end, this just had too much fat for hubby and me. Even cooking the meat partially the first night so I could de-grease it wasn't enough to make it work for us. Also, for us it tasted more like the stew I make with leftover pot roast. So, we'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. It was one of my favorite new finds in the last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Gamber

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It tasted like my grandmothers pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very Good. Better the next day. I skimmed alot of fat off after being in the fridge. The meat was very tender and flavorful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband and kids loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Stetson, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Made around christmas time. Good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my Wife and a friend who was visiting last night. I made a few changes which worked well. I omitted the seasoned flour as I wanted browned meat and not browned flour. I obviously used less ribs - just over a pound in fact. I also used olive oil. After browning well, I added a whole head of chopped garlic and half the onions. I then covered the meat in water after adding : Salt and pepper, 2 bay leaves, a sprig of parsley, a little oregano, Italian seasoning, Worcester sauce and some (2 tbsps) of Razon Liquid seasoning. I also gave it a bit of 'BAM' by putting 2 whole tiny jalapeno peppers in. After simmering for one hour I removed these. I then simmered for another hour. I then removed the ribs and strained the remaining liquid and put the gravy into a fat separator. After removing the Parsley, Bay leaves and discarding the now separated fat, I put everything back in the pot. Before dinner, I reheated the Ribs and when boiling I added the potatoes, rest of the onion and the carrots. Result : Absolutely delicious. I certainly will be doing it again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States