Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! We like lots of garlic--so I added 6 cloves instead of one. I also substituted a 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes w/oregano and basil. After browning the ribs and adding the water, tomatoes, and garlic, I covered the pot and placed it in a 350 degree oven for 1.5 hours. I then added the potatoes, onions, and carrots and returned the covered pot to the oven for another 1.5 hours. I continued with the recipe as given and the ribs were melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Followed directions except I added thymy and bay leaf. The vegetables were tender, and the meat was falling off the bone. However, the flavor was bland and very 'one note.' Replacing the water with beef broth would probably improve the dish. This recipe produces an average stew. I am going to look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great recipe, I have made this three different times and it's turned out very well each time. My only complaint is the cost of the short ribs. Where I live short ribs sell for $6.000 plus per pound unless on sale and then it's $ 5.00 plus per pound. By the time the bones are removed from the meat the recipe dose not feed 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles B. Simpson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Came out great. Hearty meal, like a stew! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These ribs were ok. They wern't great, but I ate a few. The tomates are too noticeble in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I made 2 positive changes. I used 2 small cans of stewed tomatoes and 2 beef bullion cubes in 3/4 cup water. The tomatoes were what made it great! I put it in a pressure cooker for 25 min. It would be great in a crock pot too. loved it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as stated except for three small changes. I used 4 cloves garlic, and a whole 15 ounce can of stewed tomatoes with the juice. I also used half of the veggies because I thought it was too much for the pot I started the ribs in. It turned out delish. Watch your ribs though cooking for that long; I had to turn mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My husband LOVED this recipe. I thought it was kind of a basic stew and could have used a touch of something else. I did add thyme, which gave it some extra flavor. The meat and vegetables were very tender. I think this could probably be cooked in a slow cookier, letting the meat simmer on low and then adding the vegetables later and turning up the heat. We'll definitely be having this again, because my husband really did love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great hearty recipe. Perfect for cold fall/winter nights. The only improvement might be cooking the onions first instead of putting them in at the last step for enhanced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
They were ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States