Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We LOVE this recipe!! I've made this several times and realized I didn't leave a review..As others have mentioned flouring the beef before browning really isn't necessary. My Alterations: I use 1/2 cup of beef broth, 1/2 cup of water and about a 1/3 cup of cabernet (I highly recommend adding the red wine). I also include chopped celery. GREAT recipe, meat comes out sooo tender and falls right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
As I am not a big fan of short ribs as they can be very tough and chewy, I fixed them in my pressure cooker. They were pretty tender and not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was delicous! I tweaked the recipe slightly after reading other reviews. I browned the meat without flour, used beef broth instead of water and added 1 large can (28 oz) of Italian stew tomatoes. After browning, I put the ribs and sauce in a Dutch oven at baked it at 350 detrees for a total of 3 hours. I added in carrots and onions in the last hour. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe is great but i tried to skip a step and messed up. Still delicious though. Cook on stove before adding vegetables just like the recipe states!!!! I then put in dutch oven and baked at 320 for about 4 hours. so tender and yummy and veggies perfect. i added more seasonings such as Italian season, Mrs dash garlic, pepper, basil, and dash orchestration sauce. EXCELLENT and friends devoured it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good basic recipe. We have a local store that sells boneless and trimmed short ribs. I have found that these are the best. Sometimes the short ribs can just be too fatty and it makes everything a little too greasy. We added a cup of wine and a bay leaf for some extra flavor. If you're having trouble with the potatoes falling apart, use red potatoes they tend to cook better in this type of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for braised short ribs. However, I did change a lot of stuff so maybe my 5 star rating is a little skewed. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and chose not to flour the ribs before searing them in the pan. I used about 1.5lbs of short ribs and added the following: extra garlic - 2 cloves, 2 bay leaves, about 1/2 cup red wine, basil, oregano, and sage. I also used A LOT more stewed tomatoes than recipe calls for - 28 oz can of them plus a half cup of water, adding more water over the course of the cooking process as it reduced. I think the extra tomatoes thickened the sauce enough as it reduced so that there was no need to mix in any flour or cornstarch at the end. I left out the potatoes and threw in some frozen peas in the last 5 min of cooking. It came out insanely good! This dish is hard to mess up, even if you change as much stuff as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninapastina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was just ok for me. It's similar to a swiss steak recipe I make, except more greasy and bland. I think the fault is the cut of meat, not the recipe writer. Don't think I'll bother with beef ribs anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very bland. Could have been pot roast. Followed the recipe, will not be making again. My husband the meat and tater guy only gave it 2 stars. Will continue looking for perfect short rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good recipe. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! We like lots of garlic--so I added 6 cloves instead of one. I also substituted a 14.5 oz. can of stewed tomatoes w/oregano and basil. After browning the ribs and adding the water, tomatoes, and garlic, I covered the pot and placed it in a 350 degree oven for 1.5 hours. I then added the potatoes, onions, and carrots and returned the covered pot to the oven for another 1.5 hours. I continued with the recipe as given and the ribs were melt in your mouth good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States