Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Well let's see, overall the meat turned out very tender and the veggies were just right for my liking. Basically I found the overall flavour of the sauce to be seriously lacking in overall taste even though I substituted some red wine for water and added a few other components in the end. Probably make it again using some beef broth, red wine, extra garlic and perhaps some heat for a mini kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was really a good OK, but I will keep looking for a 4 or 5 star beef short rib recipe.....I did an Irish Lamb Stew from allrecipes.com that came out fantastic, the video was on allrecipes.com You do NOT have to flour these beef short ribs , just season liberally with salt& pepper , place your oil in a cool cast iron dutch oven ( enameled preferred, a la Lodge) , and brown the ribs. Do in batches, leave a little space while browning. Frankly, this was good but not awesome. I recommend just finding the Irish Lamb Stew that has the video on this same website, and just substitute the beef short ribs for the lamb shoulder. That was a better recipe than the one that Jim pulled from the Internet.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious and very easy. I used golden beets instead of potatoes and cornstarch instead of flour for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great! Meat very tender. My Changes: Omitted onion, added 1 can onion soup instead (has beef broth in it) and 1 tsp. Tabasco sauce;did not flour meat before browning;cooked in covered pot in 350 deg. oven for 1.5 hours; added extra 1-2 cups water;cooked potatoes and carrots in separate pot till almost tender, then added on top of meat so they did not get mushy. Simmered an additional hour on top of stove. Also added a large can of mushrooms - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
What a fantastic and easy recipe! After scouring through at least 50 other reviews I decided to use 2 lbs of ribs (trimming some of the far off), added 3 cloves of garlic, paprika as seasoning since I had it on hand, carrots and finished it off in the crockpot on high for 5 hours. Husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Have made this recipe 4 or 5 times for my family. It's always a hit. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were awesome! Thanks for the recipe. There no was need for the flouring and browning process. I put them in a dutch oven with beef broth, stewed tomatoes and chopped onions at 325 for 2 hours then added carrots for and additional hour. They brown themselves. This was absolutely delicious. When it was done cooking I skimmed off fat and added flour water in the pan over the stove, it made the best gravy ever! Served with mashed potates. Soooo easy to make! I will make these over and over, good comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I'd never done beef short ribs before. Didn't like this recipe and am still looking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
These were pretty good, added 1/2 cup Chianti red wine and the gravy was excellent. I only make short ribs once in awhile, easier just to do a roast. Going to try broth mixture over a roast next time, made a great gravy. Short ribs just have way to much fat and then you have to cool and skim off the fat, too much effort!! Good recipe! thanks for sharing. One of the better short rib recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The meat was very tender but the dish in whole was very bland. Next time I will use beef broth instead of water and add lots more salt/herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States