Braised Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
WOW! I just made this for dinner tonight and my bf and I LOVED it! This was SOOO easy to make. The most time consuming part is slicing the onion / removing fat from the chicken (although I really didn't need to do the latter...). Use the best quality balsamic you can find - and afford (it REALLY does make a difference). Next time, I'll use a better quality balsamic (the dish was a tad tangy, but I like tart, so it wasn't an issue for me), mix the balsamic, tomatoes & spices together BEFORE adding to the skillet (the spices tend to clump together otherwise) and add fresh minced garlic to the skillet as the breasts simmer (in lieu of the garlic salt called for). If you are in a hurry or don't have all of the spices on hand, substitute Italian seasoned tomatoes for the plain ones and omit the seasonings alltogether. This dish goes particularly well with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans, although, I think I'll try it with seasoned rice (i.e. chicken flavor) & steamed asparagus or broccoli next time to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
966 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Just a note to those who aren't fond of balsamic vinegar. Try adding some chicken stock in with the vinegar to equal the 1/2 cup measurement. It's a great way to cut down on the bite of the vinegarbut, still adds great flavor. So, those who might give up on this recipe try it this way and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
846 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I made this in the crockpot. Very easy to make. I prepped everything the night before and the next morning just popped everything in the crockpot and turned on low, the chicken was even frozen. I did use only 1/4 C. of balsamic vinegar as recommended in other reviews and I will add garlic cloves instead of garlic salt next time. Also, I will use chicken on the bone instead of boneless/skinless chicken breast if I plan on making this in the crockpot. The boneless chicken turned out dry. Other than that, the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved this dish.... only made a few changes based on my family's preference: No onion and didn't miss it. Cut down the rosemary, basil, and oregano to 1/4 tsp each and omitted the thyme. Threw in sauteed mushrooms and roasted red peppers I had prepared for another meal. Now here's the secret, use the very best balsamic vinegar you can find as it has the smoothest flavor and will cut down on the tart vinegar flavor and you must use San Marzano tomatoes. It makes all the difference.... Served this over angel hair pasta with a salad. Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this for my beau last nite. Not sure if he would be a fan of the Balsamic flavor. I made it w/ 3 chicken breast and cut the balsamic amt in 1/2. I added mushrooms & topped off w/ some mozzarella cheese. I also added a touch of brown sugar to cut the tanginess of the vinegar and also to carmalize the onions & mushrooms. It was very tasty and I took the leftovers to work where they all wanted to recipe. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Suggestion: Do not make this as stated if you are not a fan of the balsamic taste. All others, enjoy this delightful dish. I make this all of the time, and change it up by slicing the chicken and onions, adding slices of green peppers and serving over pasta...but I like preparing it as the recipe states as well. I LOVE the flavor of it and love the fact that it's a great meal that can be made in little time which makes it perfect for those busy weeknights! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
I can't believe how good this was! I omitted the oil and sauteed the onions and breasts in water and I used fresh rosemary and fresh basil. I served the chicken with risotto and poured the sauce onto the risotto. The chicken was excellent and I'll definitely serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Excellent with artichoke hearts, tomato and mushrooms. A meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I cooked this on medium heat and followed the recipe almost exactly. I did add 3 cloves of minced garlic. My friend and I both enjoyed the flavor and the spices. I served it over white rice and with green beans. I do plan on adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Very good. I followed earlier advice and cubed the chicken and served over angel hair pasta. My husband hurried home the next day to eat the leftovers. (He NEVER eats leftovers!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States