Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
OH I am soooooo happy with how it turned out! Impressed everyone. I made 2 loaves, a pan of rolls, and some pigs in a blanket (just took a pack of hot dogs and rolled dough thin and then enclosed the hot dog) I cooked them all at the same time but took the rolls out at 35 minutes and the pigs in a blanket out at 40 minutes. I am uploading photos so you can see how proud I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I am so glad i chose this recipe to serve to company. Not only is it delicious but it's beautiful. I halved the recipe and made one huge braid. I can't imagine using a full recipe for one braid! Who would have a pan big enough?! It cooked in 35 minutes at 350. I will definately make this again. The only thing I might do differently is to add a little extra salt but it is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
NOTICE: 11 cups of flour!! 60 servings! It makes a LOT of bread. I didn't notice until I was adding flour. It made a very large regular sized loaf (typical loaf pan) and a massive braid the size of a thanksgiving turkey. Also, doesn't really taste eggy at all. Just like regular white bread, though very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curdmor
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This recipe is perfect. I used Pioneer all purpose flour and let the eggs get to room temp. I like to top my bread with seeds and coarse salt. This time I used poppy, sesame and caraway seeds with sea salt. The loaves are enormous. I braided two of them and put them into large bread pans. I did flour and oil the pans and I put cornmeal on the bottom. I baked at 325 after initially heating to 350 and it took only 28 mins. I put a tablespoon of honey in with the yeast and water to feed the yeast. I found it took only about 10 cups of flour but I did use 2 cups of whole wheat flour in that mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curdmor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My neighbor and I enjoy baking together, and one day I brought the extra challah loaf I had baked with my mother for the jewish Sabath. She loved it and immediately we decided to find our own recipe to bake together. We have tried several and decided that this was the best. It makes two huge loaves, so we each get one, and we add poppy seeds to the sesame seeds. Its nice and soft but firm as challah should be. It tastes amazing with a little butter when its still a bit warm from the oven. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Wonderful recipe! My room mate and I were quite delighted that this bread turned out so well. I'm not a very experienced bread maker, but I was amazed at how well this came out. Too bad we ate it too quickly to take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I halved this recipe, double the sugar, and added 1 TBSP of crisco to the batter while mixing and mine came out absolutely wonderful! Got great reviews and many requests already! Not only is it gorgeous and impressive looking physically, it was incredibly delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fresh eggs make this recipe even better, if that is possible! I was not much of a bread maker until now. This recipe is definately hard to mess up, beautiful, and tastes great! My 9 and 5 year old love to shape it with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This bread was very tasty, but once cut it dried out very quickly. I will try adding potato flakes the next time as another reviewer mentioned. Otherwise, it was a really good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Help! The first time I made this bread it was beautiful. The second time the braids pulled away from center. I am not sure what I did wrong. Monicatfp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States