Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am just learning how to cook and have never made homemade bread of any sort before, but I thought this recipe was pretty simple and straightforward, and my challah came out beautiful! One of my favorite smells in the world is baking bread, and it tasted as good as it smelled. A little too hard on the outside for some reason (maybe I didn't let it rise long enough before glazing?) but the inside was soft and moist! Thanks for the upload marilou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Mixed up the full recipe and made one braided loaf, 2 one pound loaves and a pan of dinner rolls. Rave reviews from all who tried it. I forgot to lessen the cook time, but still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Incredible!! Delicious!! We know nothing about baking and it was our first time making bread. My husband and I attempted this very tiring but extremely worthwhile, (and will do it many more times,) baking expedition. We made it into 2 loaves and the only thing we changed is no sesame, we didn't have any. Soooo good. We feel like professionals. I cannot believe how big they grew. 1 loaf would have been scary. We made the 'baked french toast' with it the next morning, from this site. Mmmmm Thank you for this, it gave us a lot of confidence in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MotoJack
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Excellent and easier than I'd thought it would be.A very light moist and great tasting bread which is a little bit sweet but not overly so.I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoJack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a little dry. That's probably because I think I quartered the recipe... I'll try again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Awesome! Soft, flavorful, beautiful. Makes TONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great bread,very simple to make. I did a six braid, which I thought would be difficult and time consuming. VERY easy. I watched a 2 min video on 6 strand braiding. So simple, can't wait to make again. Also, I cut the recipe in half and it still made 2 nice size loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family and I LOVED this bread I am definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
All that hard work really paid off! This is something for the whole family to do in the afternoon. It takes up a lot of time but every minute was worth it. This bread is soooooo yummy! It's really good with honey butter spread. I had enough for two large loaves and two mini loaves (for the boys who worked so hard at helping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
If I could have given it 10 stars, I would have! Despite numerous glitches in the preparation of this wonderful bread, it was perfect as it came from the oven! Ease in preparation, long-lasting freshness, delightful taste and texture have made this a real keeper at my house. What did I do wrong, you ask? Well, I down-sized it to one loaf, but failed to notice that the measurements in the body of the preparation instructions weren't changed. When I saw 'add 1/2 c water,' I did; and then realized I had gone by the original size. Oops! So, I changed it to make 2 loaves...mistake # 2 was assuming I had enough flour for the bigger quantity...Had to make a quick run for another bag of the white stuff...despite these 'operator errors,' my bread turned out beautifully, and I got rave reviews from all of the friends and family who ate it...even 4 days later. It makes fantastic French toast, too. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States