Braided Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is an awesome bread!! It has such a light, sweet flavor. This was only my 2nd time trying to make a yeast bread and it turned out fine. I made two braided loaves and they were huge! I can't imagine how big it would be if you only made one loaf. The two loaves did not fit in the oven at the same time, so I put one in the fridge while the other was baking. I didn't know if that would harm the bread or not but it didn't. It turned out just like the other loaf that didn't go in the fridge beforehand. This is a fantastic recipe! This is a great starter recipe for yeast breads. I now have the confidence to try making other kinds of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy to make and pretty good flavor, but a little bit dry. Lovely presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I halved this recipe and still came about with two large loaves! It was good and looked great; it did NOT last long in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I am just learning how to cook and have never made homemade bread of any sort before, but I thought this recipe was pretty simple and straightforward, and my challah came out beautiful! One of my favorite smells in the world is baking bread, and it tasted as good as it smelled. A little too hard on the outside for some reason (maybe I didn't let it rise long enough before glazing?) but the inside was soft and moist! Thanks for the upload marilou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Mixed up the full recipe and made one braided loaf, 2 one pound loaves and a pan of dinner rolls. Rave reviews from all who tried it. I forgot to lessen the cook time, but still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Incredible!! Delicious!! We know nothing about baking and it was our first time making bread. My husband and I attempted this very tiring but extremely worthwhile, (and will do it many more times,) baking expedition. We made it into 2 loaves and the only thing we changed is no sesame, we didn't have any. Soooo good. We feel like professionals. I cannot believe how big they grew. 1 loaf would have been scary. We made the 'baked french toast' with it the next morning, from this site. Mmmmm Thank you for this, it gave us a lot of confidence in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MotoJack
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Excellent and easier than I'd thought it would be.A very light moist and great tasting bread which is a little bit sweet but not overly so.I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoJack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a little dry. That's probably because I think I quartered the recipe... I'll try again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Awesome! Soft, flavorful, beautiful. Makes TONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great bread,very simple to make. I did a six braid, which I thought would be difficult and time consuming. VERY easy. I watched a 2 min video on 6 strand braiding. So simple, can't wait to make again. Also, I cut the recipe in half and it still made 2 nice size loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States