Braciola III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I tried this recipie in hopes to find something different for my family and it was wonderful. I did not change a thing and it was a hit at our dinner table. I also accompanied the dish with the pasta carbonara also from this website and it went really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My husband is from Italy, and I made this to his liking using proscuitto, pecorino romano, and fresh basil leaves as the filling. I used my own homemade sauce and followed the recipe directions in the preparation. It was WONDERFUL! Served it with fresh homemade ciabatta bread for soaking up the sauce. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Depending on the region, or even the particular cook, this richly flavored dish can be prepared in any number of ways, but what is common is that it is meat, usually beef but sometimes veal, about 1/4" thick, that is rolled with some sort of stuffing, then braised in a "sugo," or sauce. In Sicily this is called braciole and typically stuffed with raisins and pine nuts. In Italy this is called involtini, and is sometimes stuffed with a mixture of bread crumbs, Romano cheese and eggs - or with carrots, onions, celery, garlic and parsley. A variation I often make is with garlic, prosciutto, fresh basil leaves and Romano. (Which is also how I recently enjoyed this dish in Rome) No matter how it's stuffed these beef rolls are braised for about 1-1/2 hours in tomato sauce, and usually with beef stock, red wine and garlic added. This version, while maybe not traditional, is a perfectly acceptable short-cut variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I really liked this, but I've never had it before, so couldn't compare it to anything like the other reviewers did. Though I did agree with one thing, it is only as good as the sauce and also quality of meat that you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This recipe was GREAT! My boyfriend loved it - it takes a little bit to put it all together but the result is worth it. Give it a try!!! Thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
My high school sweetheart's mother made braciole for me for my birthday. Hers was rolled with a bread stuffing with mushrooms and cheeses and prosciutto. Amazingly tasty, and the sauce in which it was cooked was divine. Why didn't I marry that girl?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Ok. Needs more Italian spices. I've seen the recipe with Italian bread crumbs in it and raisins also. If your going to take the time to make this don't use jar sauce, make your own. Oh, the spelling is wrong, should be Braciole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE CASSELBERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I thought the meat turned out too dry. My husband, who likes well-done beef thought it was very good (he rates it at 4 stars). If I made this again I think I would fully cook the bacon first and cook the meat roll less. It did have a good flavor (I used Italian seasoning instead of parsley).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States