Braciola I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I didn't add the raisins because we don't care for them. The meat turned out tough and there was nothing special about the flavor. It just tasted like meat and spaghetti sauce. Maybe the raisins add a little something to it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out well and I liked it, however the raisins were the topic of some heated debate at the dinner table. No one besides me could come to terms with them. But they picked them out and ate the meat and seemed to enjoy it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I liked this. It was easy to make. Didn't have any string so I used pieces of wooden skewers and when I ran out, some vermicelli - an old trick (you can use spaghetti as well). Next time I will use cooking twine and spaghetti to hold the cheese in place. It's too bad you have to turn it as you brown it etc. which necessitates the use of twine. Tasted GREAT. The meat was slightly tough but I hurried the cooking so that could be the problem. I used crushed tomatoes seasoned with italian seasonings and sugar for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
It ended up being a lot of work, but my husband really liked it! I think next time it will be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Why is it so difficult to find cooking twine in Houston? With the help of some toothpicks to secure the rolled meat, this is a show-stopper! Just have to extract carefully after cooking... I was wary like another reviewer of the raisins but they added to it and I am NOT a raisin fan (used yellow and purple different times with same good results). I think that as long as you get the butcher to tenderize the meat really good--knowing you will also have to whack at it as well--and choose a yummy spaghetti sauce, this is a no-fail. If the cheese comes out or not, (sometimes it happened to me, sometimes it stayed with all), it all comes together deliciously. I have made it three times now for different groups and have gotten astonished, rave reviews. HEY!? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Wow! This was wonderful. And not nearly as hard to make as I was afraid of (from other comments). I actually thought it was pretty easy. And the taste! Didn't have a problem w/filling leaking out of meat rolls. But them I pressed the cheese, etc., down on the meat before rolling the pieces. Didn't have string, so used wooden toothpicks to secure rolls. Had to find them when serving, but worked okay. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was a hit at my house! I had the butcher tenderize my round steak as it tends to be a tougher cut of meat. It doesn't matter if the cheese runs out, it is supposed to all blend together for the terrific taste. Just spoon the sauce back on when you serve it. I also put mine in the crock pot after browning the rolls in a little oil. Don't leave anything out because then it isn't authentic! I serve it with mashed potatoes and tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Certainly not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was quite tasty but way too time consuming for me to make it again soon. The whole cheese-in-the-middle and tying it up thing took far too long for what it was worth. I'll bet it would taste just as well if it was just layered with those items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
the taste was average. the cheese totally melted out into the sauce, and the beef seemed a little tough and dry. kind of a pain to tie each piece up. too much work for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States