Braciola I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Very good. Kind of a pain to put together but once you get it going you can relax and let it simmer. Had a wonderful flavor. I used string and still lost my filling but I think I just need to get my technique down. Family loved it, especially the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was awesome. I am one of the toothpick users, since I didn't have any string, so I fully expected the loss of cheese from my rolls. I made a sauce from 2 cans diced basil and garlic tomatoes, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1 small can tomato paste, 1 large chopped onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp dried oregano, 2 tsp dried basil, salt, pepper, and 2 cups of chicken stock. I let it all simmer for 2 hours with the lid off to let some the liquid cook off. Once I removed the rolls I added a little heavy cream to the sauce. So good!! I think I am going to use this recipe as a basis for experimenting with other cheeses and spices. Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good without raisins. Since I didn't have string, I used toothpicks. Will definately use string next time. The cheese came out all in the sauce. The sauce wasn't that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I have some suggestions I've collected to help the filling stay intact. Tips: 1. This is traditional Sunday dish--it's not meant to be difficult. As it was served to me, it wasn't a dish that "wowed" on the table in terms of presentation, just on your taste buds! This particular recipe describes "oozing" cheese. Conjures almost a calzone-like explosion of filling. I'm not sure that's what was actually intended. In my experience, that's not what you get when you slice into braciola, so relax if yours doesn't fit the description. It's ok! Still, you shouldn't be losing *all* your filling. 2. Don't overfill your rolls. Less is more. 3. Leave a 1 inch border between your filling and the edge of the meat, all the way around. This trick makes sense because then the browning process (prior to putting the meat in the sauce) will help seal the edges. Brown well on all sides! This adds flavor! 4. Roll tightly. 5. Consider tucking the open edges (think burrito). I found this helpful, although I'm not sure that it's traditional. If you leave the 1 inch border and brown well, that may be enough. 5. I used toothpicks to secure my rolls, but most italian chefs seem to recommend using string or twine--and tying it tightly, especially the open edges. These are just tips I've picked up and I'm still learning myself. I'd love to hear some real braciole pros chime in with their techniques!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. Simple to make and tastes great. This will definately become a staple in our house. Thanks for sharing Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is a winner! Took some to work and got rave reviews..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Very Good!! It seemed a bit tedious at first, but the recipe turned out to be easy to make and tasted delicious. Thanks to the addition of raisins, even my two-year old "gobbled" it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was a wonderful way to prepare round steak. I did make a few changes, I left out the raisins and used shredded 2%milk mozzarella. It was tender and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was wonderful. My husband was asking for it at least twice a month, but this is something I don't want to get sick of. I sprinkled the salt and pepper on the meat after pounding it. And I did not use raisin just because I wasn't go to the store, but next time they are going in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
My entire family loved this recipe and they are not easy to please. I will be making this again and again, or so I have been told ;) I did make my own sauce, I used currants in place of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States