Braciola I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
YUM! I used sirloin steak ( I recommend using it, round steak is yuck!) because that's what I had. I made 4 braciola's. If you only make 4, then only use 4 oz of mozzarella cheese, 1/4 C Parmesan & 1 t of butter to each. 1/8 t garlic to each & I used slightly less amount of raisins because I realized it was going to be tough to roll up if I added anything else. After browning them, I added them to my simmering homemade tomato sauce in the crockpot. I let it simmer around 6 hours. A little cheese leaked out even though I tied them tight with kitchen twine but I expected that. I served with spaghetti & sauce. I will try again. The prep time was longer than 10 mins for me. I found that this recipe wasn't hard at all, just took some time & patience. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Really tasty! I followed recipe exactly, except I used a bit less Mozzarella than listed because it all wouldn't fit. Plan on a little more prep time than the recipe calls for. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liammom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I wasn't overly impressed with this.. although I may be somewhat to blame. I omitted the raisins which I will add next time along with additional cheese. I used string to tie the bundles tight yet the cheese still disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was ok. I cant say that I would make it again with this exact recipe but its a good start for my own twist. I would definately add more ingredients as far as the stuffing goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is good. Don't be intimidated--not hard to make. Also, the raisins are surprisingly good in there as well. My wife didn't like it. I'd have given it 4, and she 2, but she tends not to like chewy meats, and the round steak still was, somewhat tough. Give it a try--you might love it, and you certainly won't hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Instead of cutting it up into 4 pieces I cut it in half. One piece I used tooth picks to hold it together and another I used thread. Don't use thread. It held together nicely but was a complete pain. The tooth picks weren't easy to work with because the area around the toothpick didn't brown. It worked out in the end because it cooked in the sauce but next time I'll be prepared and buy string. I omitted the raisins but included italian breadcrumbs. My husband RAVED about this. It wasn't perfect due to my own mistakes but it was still VERY good. I have a feeling this will be a once every two week dish. Some comments: 1)Thin the sauce. Mine thickened up quite a bit while it was simmering. I had to add water to thin it out so it wasn't so chunky on the meat. 2) Turn the meat while it is simmering in the sauce. It was hectic while I was cooking and never thought to turn it. Big mistake. 3) Use string. It is easier to deal with and ensures that the meat will completly brown on all sides. I had a few toothpicks that broke off when I was turning the meat. 4) Use shredded mozarella cheese. It makes it easier to roll tight. 5) Prepare the meat a few hours ahead. After you have it wrapped tightly and secured, put it in the fridge. It helps keep it together. This was a great start. I think next time it will be perfect. The flavor was excellent but the hectic kitchen caused me to make mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Oh my! This was sooo good! My brother-in-law came in from playing across the street while I was making this and said it smelled "incredible". I found this extremely easy to make when the ends are kept together with toothpicks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe was okay. After much anticipation from "Everybody Loves Raymond", I finally stumbled across the recipe. However, a bit labor intensive. I have never been frustrated by a recipe and I was, by trying to roll the beef! It was actually very tough and difficult to eat. I found it a little, however, my husband really enjoyed it, therefore it will get 4 stars rather than 3. My husband does have a small say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Ok. Better than one posted by Candy. I made my own sauce. The one in the pic looks too thin. Good flavor. Correct spelling is Braciole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Barrett-Casselberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Great Sunday night dinner, smells great while simmering and tasted great! Takes a little time to prepare the rolls, but worth the effort when you have time, and use the raisins, adds a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clay Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States