Braciola I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was wonderful!! The pounding of the meat took some time. but it was worth it. Used a round steak that was cut already into 6 pieces. I didnt add the raisins (personal preference) But everything else in the recipe was done as written. including cooking time. The meat was super tender and flavorful. This will definately be added to the monthly menu :) thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
thought it seemed a little long so only cooked this for 1hr 1o min and the meat was so tough it was almost inedible. as far as the filling it was the only saving grace -- used high quality mozz and it melted fine, added roasted red pepper and fresh basil (copying a butcher pre-made from Safeway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
My husband grew up in an Italian town. He told me this recipe was really good. It means alot coming from one who learned to cook Italian from those he grew up with. Thanks for a yummy yummy recipe with great instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
So, sooo good! The raisins didn't appeal to me, but I left them in anyway and I'm glad I did. They add a light touch of sweetness to the meat and aren't detectable as raisins. I left this to simmer for 2 hrs. on low and it was so tender. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I really liked this great way to use a cheap cut of meat. Meat was very tender. I also had a problem with the cheese leaking out. The rolls that I browned a little more seemed to do a little better then those that I wasn't able to brown the ends as well. It didn't do much for dh, but I took it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very good. Adaptable to small changes for taste preferences. More cheese, less cheese, spices, different steak cuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was very good. My husband really liked it. I did make a few minor changes. They are easy so hopefully not to annoying. First, I browned the meat first before rolling it up. It was easier. Second, instead of string I used metal Kabob sticks with a curve at the end. Last, I put the rolled meat in a small cake pan, poured the spaghetti sauce over it and put in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour. Next, time the last 1/2 hour I might add a pkg. of pre-sliced mushrooms. On my all time favorite list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good, served it for sunday night dinner and everyone loved it! very tender and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Not bad, but a few modifications would improve this recipe. 1. Cheese: Mozzarella gets too runny and gooey when melted (think pizza), and is a little bland. A combination of parmesan and romano gives a nice melting, and also adds much better flavor. You can even add some swiss or some provolone for better flavor. 2. Herbs. The filling should have some fresh herbs. A few tablespoons of fresh parsley or basil (or your preference) gives a fuller flavor. 3. Sauce. I shy away from jarred sauces because they always taste of tomato paste. A home-made simply marinara is much better. 4. Bread crumbs. Some like it, some not. A handful of bread crumbs makes a nice texture. And you can use an egg to help bind it. Man, do I love braciole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
YUM! I used sirloin steak ( I recommend using it, round steak is yuck!) because that's what I had. I made 4 braciola's. If you only make 4, then only use 4 oz of mozzarella cheese, 1/4 C Parmesan & 1 t of butter to each. 1/8 t garlic to each & I used slightly less amount of raisins because I realized it was going to be tough to roll up if I added anything else. After browning them, I added them to my simmering homemade tomato sauce in the crockpot. I let it simmer around 6 hours. A little cheese leaked out even though I tied them tight with kitchen twine but I expected that. I served with spaghetti & sauce. I will try again. The prep time was longer than 10 mins for me. I found that this recipe wasn't hard at all, just took some time & patience. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States