Boyfriend Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best brownies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
They weren't awful. Definitely use a larger pan. 9x9 overflowed and burned on the bottom of my oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the BEST Brownie recipe. Used a 13X9 pan as others suggested and didn't add the walnuts or the second bag of chocolate chips (although next time I will most likely add in a bag of mint chocolate chips). These are moist, fudgey and produce a nice shiny top just like a box mix would. My new go to brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
started cooking over the 9x9 pan after 20 minutes! I should have followed my gut and used a bigger pan!! Also, came out very cakey. Not very sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It's a good recipe but has major errors...first of all, this needs to be in a jelly roll pan (cookie sheet) not a 9x9 dish, or else you will end up with a house full of smoke and a week worth of scrubbing your oven. Second, only bake for 25-30 minutes or else you will have rock hard, crumbly brownies. If you follow those few changes, you will have some amazing brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbiemat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Kinda in love with this recipe. Even with my inability to follow directions it still worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I used ghiradelli chocolate which gave it wonderful flavor - semisweet (60% cacao) in the batter and milk and white chocolate in the mix. I also only used 1 cup sugar as others recommended and as it turns out, I was running out of white sugar so ended up using 2/3 white and 1/3 light brown. What I did wrong: My eggs were jumbo and even as I was adding them I thought 4 was too many...but so many people said they followed the recipe exactly and it was "fudgy"- it came out more like a cake than brownies but the flavor is good. I will call this a snack cake instead of brownies. I will try this recipe again using only 3 eggs. maybe only 2 of these jumbo eggs (from a farm store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I found this recipe and it sounded like it would make great brownies. It took some adjustments to make them come out right. 1.) A 9x9 is not big enough for this recipe, you will need at least a 9x13 or two smaller pans. This is a cake like brownie and they rise quite a bit. 2.) When adding your eggs you need to let the melted chocolate mixture cool first otherwise you will end up with scrambled eggs in your batter. Also this will help keep your second bag of chips from melting into the batter. And last, just a suggestion try mint or peanut butter chips for the second bag instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Every review, all 52 at the time I looked at this recipe, warned that the mix would rise over the top of a 9x9 pan, so I used a 13x9. Seemed as though there was not enough batter to reach all corners. While baking it did rise evenly, not too high, and after 30 minutes at 325 it started to pull away from the sides, so I removed it from the oven and sprinkled chopped pecans mixed with the second portion of semi-sweet chips to allow them to melt and stick together as a topping since I didn't add them in to the batter. We like frosted brownies so rather than a chocolate and sugar overdose I tried a different approach. Also, some reviews mentioned using different chips for peanut butter flavor so I used 2/3 cup crunchy peanut instead of butter. I also added a teaspoon of instant coffee to the water. One last touch was a sprinkle of sea salt on top of the melting topping based on the salted brownies recipe we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Yum, Yum, Yum. This recipe should get 10 stars. I did follow another reviewers advice and used the bigger baking pan. Good thing. I did make one change to the recipe though. I used amaretto instead of water. I have never had a brownie this good. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States