Boyfriend Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Everything was delicious! Except when i finished preparing everything i realized there was no way it would be able to fit in a 9x9 pan. Instead i used a regular 13x9 pan and it filled perfectly. By the time it was done the brownies were still nice and thick in the pan and were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made three small changes; I used double-strength coffee instead of water and after I stirred the eggs in, I used extra dark chocolate chips and omitted the nuts only because I'm quite broke right now and cannot afford them. I also noticed that after I got the brownie batter ready, all of it would not have fit in a 9x9 pan. I used a rectangular pan, I think the 9x13. These turned out dense and fudgy and just AWESOME. Hugely loved by my husband (he ate half the pan in twenty minutes!) though I think if he had been my boyfriend, these would have warranted a proposal. Thanks, Debra, for our new brownie recipe! NOTE: To save you scrambled eggs in your batter mixture, make sure you cool your sugar/water/chocolate mixture a bit before beating in your eggs or temper the eggs (add a little of the hot mixture into the egg to warm it slightly) with a bit of the sugar/water/chocolate mixture. Once you cook your egg accidentally, it's all over. Be sure you bake this in a larger pan. Bake it in a smaller pan and you'll end up with less favorable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These brownies are delicious! They are very chocolatey, which is why I loved them. I tempered the egg, just like the other reviews said, and it worked out beautifully. The brownies are very thick, but still very moist. I am definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, and used a 9x9 pan as directed. The whole thing rose about an inch over the pan and a crust formed. The brownie mix underneath never cooked through even though I cooked it for an extra half hour. So I had a burned crust over a bunch of goo. Unfortunately I let it cool, and it was such a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These are hands down the BEST brownies I have ever made! I omitted the walnuts simply because I don't like them. The brownies are so moist and chewy! Perfect for all brownie fans. Thanks so much for the great recipe! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shneeky shnake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were rich and heavenly, I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans. These were just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is the first recipe I ever tried baking on my own, and it was absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I tried another brownie recipe after this, and this one was far superior. My search for the perfect brownie ended on my first try! (Except, definitely use a 9x13 pan, not a 9x9)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is the exact recipe for brownies that I have been using for years. What can I say except that it's the best! For a variation I often fold in a bag of Reeses peanut butter chips in place of the chocolate chips and leave the nuts out. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
It might come out gooy but get let it cool all the way to when it's cold it will thicken during that wait how do I even know those Words yay I'm a smart 10 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
These brownies are amazing. I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans with great results. They were a bit overwhelming right out of the oven but once they were cooled the flavor was perfect. My roommates and coworkers were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulletbikeguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States