Boyfriend Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
got it in a 9x9 pan and it made a HUGE mess. They were good but didn't like cleaning the mess. Next time BIGGER pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle Lelievre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
If you are a true fudge-a-holic and love your brownies the same way, then you'll love these. They're fudgy and gooey all right, but for me, just a little too much so. I ate one and now I feel like a kid who overdid it on the sweet stuff and gave him/herself a tummy-ache. I love frosted brownies, but wouldn't EVEN consider it on these, even if I eliminated the chocolate chips in the batter! (Allrecipes editors, please seriously consider revising the pan size in this recipe to 13x9 inch. Previous reviewers who gave that heads up in their reviews to future bakers looking to make these saved them from disappointment. I made HALF the recipe in an 8x8" pan and could have easily gotten by with a 9x9" pan as well. The full recipe does NOT work for a 9x9" pan!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These are absolutely delicious! My reason for the 4-star rating is because 1) if you make in a 9x9 pan as stated, you will likely be disappointed and have a mess in your oven (need a 9x13 pan as others recommended) and 2) the brownies fall quite a bit in the center. But make in a 9x13 pan and you will have delicious brownies. This may be a good candidate for one of those special brownie pans to reduce the falling during cooling. Also thanks to those who offered advice on tempering the eggs. I have been baking for years and never heard of this very useful technique that I will not be applying to some other recipes as well. I omitted walnuts as I don't love them in my brownies and used white chocolate chips mixed in because that's what I had. I also have been experimenting with using more brown sugar and wheat flour in recipes. Split the sugar 1/2 white and 1/2 brown. Used 1/2 cup King Arthur's White Whole Wheat flour and the remainder all-purpose flour. Will be making many times and will likely change around the mixed in chips to fit my preference for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This makes a LOT of batter. Be sure to bake in 13x9 dish! That being said, the brownies are super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I work for the Air Force, in an office of cooks and it seems we are always eating something. YEA! I decided to have a little fun with our folks with this recipe; so instead of me rating this recipe I made up a rating sheet for all that wanted to have one of the treats; I wanted them to think about what they were eating and to let me know what they thought. I made the recipe as written with only two changes: I added 1 tsp of instand coffee granuals to the batter and I used pecans roasted in the oven with butter and a little Kosher salt instead of walnuts. My folks loved this idea and took it very seriously. So we collectively gave this 4-1/4 stars. Over all they loved the brownies, but thought we should keep looking, after all I am on a quest to find the best brownie recipe in the world. Thanks for giving us an opportunity to try a really good recipe and have a little fun in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made these an like them cause they give me the taste of old recipe i have! It takes less eggs!! Mine looked really nice but after 10mins cooling they fell in the middle!! I did cut back on the choc though!! I added a dash of cinn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It is a great tasting recipe. I've been making this same recipe (just half of what is listed here) for about 30 years. Well worth the effort and even better with chcolate icing if you're a real chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I found this recipe on the Nestle chocolate chip bag years ago. Has always been a favorite and shared with many people over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These are the best brownies, they are rich and simple I will never go back to the box. Definitely use a 13x9 pan though there is a lot of batter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithful912002

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States