Boyfriend Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
absolutely fantastic. have been on a best brownie hunt for a few years now and this might just take the cake. Fudgey yet chewy, perfect crinkle top. really doesnt get much better! substituted white chocolate chips for the 2nd addition step just to mix things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The recipe itself is great, but Do Not - i repeat - DO NOT use a 9x9" pan!!! This needs to be in a much bigger baking dish. The brownie recipe is awesome though. I altered it a little and used 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 bag of white chocolate chips and replaced the water with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Meh... These turned out realllllly gooey for me. Some people enjoy that but just not in our house. :) I honestly enjoyed these more the day after when they had settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made these last night for dessert and oh my...they are fantastic!!! Followed some of the advise others had suggested. Used the 9 x 13 pan and tempered the eggs. I was out of flour, so I used "soft as silk" cake flour (follow the box for substituting for regular flour). Put 1/2 bag of semi sweet chips, 1/2 bag of dark chocolate chips and walnuts in the mixture. Again...YUM!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Oh my goodness!!!!! Best brownies EVER!!!! I have done quite a few variations. Dark chocolate chips, milk chocolate chips, and Reeses peanut butter chips. All have been really great!! I usually use coffee instead of water but either way it taste good. Like the others reviewers said use a 9~13 pan!! You will not be sorry you tried this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I've made these twice and have been disappointed each time. Will try one last time using 13 x 9 pan. Previous attempts have been dry AND gooey, although oven temp and cooking times were carefully watched. So far, there's a boxed mix which is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
The 9x13 pan rule should be the change in this recipe, but other than that, I am getting nothing but compliments! An EX-boyfriend even stole some more to take home, after he'd enjoyed one warm with vanilla ice cream. Even if it technically isn't a "one-bowl" recipe, to get this texture I will continue to use this recipe. I had unsweetened chocolate in my house so I increased the sugar by 1/2 cup; this makes a dark chocolatey brownie that I think will take frostings and caramel a lot better and not crack your sweet tooth. It took the ice cream perfectly! Love love love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jyynx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles
Living In: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used this recipe to bake brownies for my husband to take to work. THANK YOU. These were a huge hit. I believe I heard "heavenly" and "best brownies ever" used to describe them. They are very sweet (too sweet for me, but I don't have much of a sweet tooth), but his coworkers loved them. I made a few changes. First, I only used 1 12-oz. package of chocolate chips, half with the vanilla and half later, just before baking, since I planned to dip these in chocolate and was worried about them being too sweet. (That didn't work out so well ... dipped brownies take a lot of melted chocolate! But my husband's coworkers liked both the dipped and undipped brownies.) I added a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder along with the first half of the chocolate chips. I used 1/8 cup water and 18 cup whole milk in lieu of the 1/4 cup water for a slightly creamier texture. And I left out the nuts because I don't like nuts and I was worried about allergies. I cut my brownies into approx. 1.5" cubes, and this batch made 48 cubes of that size. One warning: these brownies rose a lot while baking. I baked these in a 9x13 pan that was about 1.5-2" deep, and the brownies rose up to (and slightly above in some places) the rim of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Too doughy tasting. I'm a baker and know there must be a better recipe than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
got it in a 9x9 pan and it made a HUGE mess. They were good but didn't like cleaning the mess. Next time BIGGER pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle Lelievre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States