Boyfriend Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Every review, all 52 at the time I looked at this recipe, warned that the mix would rise over the top of a 9x9 pan, so I used a 13x9. Seemed as though there was not enough batter to reach all corners. While baking it did rise evenly, not too high, and after 30 minutes at 325 it started to pull away from the sides, so I removed it from the oven and sprinkled chopped pecans mixed with the second portion of semi-sweet chips to allow them to melt and stick together as a topping since I didn't add them in to the batter. We like frosted brownies so rather than a chocolate and sugar overdose I tried a different approach. Also, some reviews mentioned using different chips for peanut butter flavor so I used 2/3 cup crunchy peanut instead of butter. I also added a teaspoon of instant coffee to the water. One last touch was a sprinkle of sea salt on top of the melting topping based on the salted brownies recipe we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Yum, Yum, Yum. This recipe should get 10 stars. I did follow another reviewers advice and used the bigger baking pan. Good thing. I did make one change to the recipe though. I used amaretto instead of water. I have never had a brownie this good. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were amazing!! So moist, everyone loved them! I can't go back to box mix now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! I only made one change...the pan! I used a 9x13 pan because even as I mixed the batter I could tell it was too much for the 9x9 pan. The batter was just enough for the bigger pan. I also made the recipe in one pan. I mixed the chocolate, eggs, and vanilla as well as the dry ingredients in the same pan as the sugar, water and butter to cut down on cleanup and it worked just fine. This brownie is moist, flavorful and very chocolaty and I did not find it overbearing on sweetness in the least. I used semi sweet Nestle chips. The only other recommendation I would make is for those of us who use a glass baking dish. I would add just a little flour to the bottom of the pan to help aide in keeping the brownie non-stick because I used Pam Butter flavored cooking spray and it did not necessarily work as I got a little sticking action on the pan. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msdee1970
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made these last night and only added one bag of semi sweet chocolate chips and tasted good not to sweet . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
9 X 13 PAN IS DEFINITELY NEEDED for this OH SO YUMMY brownie recipe. The author made a huge mistake when she listed the pan size as 9x9 I've mixed in peanut butter chips for a change up and also made with a combination of semi sweet and white chocolate. I've found that 42 minutes at 325 degrees is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Wonderful! I've made these a few times to send to my USAF boyfriend in care packages (they don't dry out or go stale too quickly, like some do) and now all the military wives and girlfriends want the recipe! Highly recommend! (But do make in a bigger pan...mine bubbled over the first time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made these for Superbowl Sunday. Quite easy to make, but I forgot to add the second 12 ounces of chocolate chips. Seriously didn't miss them. These were just ok for us. Very dense and cake like. I baked them for 45 minutes and they were definitely done. May want to set your timer to 40 minutes and check them then. I wonder if I over baked them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe. For the second bag of chips that you pour in but don't melt, I used mini chocolate chips. I liked them better than the regular size to bite into in the brownie. I don't see how this could fit into a 9" square pan without overflowing, I used a 9x13 and it filled it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made these for MY boyfriend, and he said they were some of the best brownies ever (and he can be picky sometimes)! When I tried them later, I decided that these ARE the BEST brownies I have ever had: absolutely delicious! :) ~I did take into consideration, the change in pans, and used dark chocolate chips instead of walnuts (to save money like another reviewer), but these were really the only changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States