Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is really great! There is a place here in town that makes stuffed Boxty's...and they are AWESOME! Think I will make my own variation of the stuffed version as well, so they can be a whole meal. They also have a breakfast boxty that is stuffed with rashers (Irish bacon), bangers (sausage) and Irish cheddar. Topped with a Hollandaise sauce...it's to die for!!!! I'm sure I can make this at home too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The boxty was sort of bland. I wish the batter was not so thick, because they didn't cook through very easily on the griddle. I'd like to see the recipe revamped for a thinner batter, use frozen hash browns instead of shredding your own potato, and also with some cheese in it or something (but I guess you could top it with whatever you want). Something kinda weird was that the leftover batter has a chemical reaction with the air and turns weird colors over a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I grew up eating authentic boxty and this is a so-so attempt as written. I did follow the recipe using 1 small red potato to grate and 1 small Idaho to bake. The raw grated potato is supposed to give this some texture, so that was alright, but the result was just bland and uninteresting, IMO. For my actual meal, I used leftover mashed potatos, which had been cooked in salted water and mashed with butter and milk. I had cooked extra knowing I would use the rest for Boxty. I added 2 grated medium red potatoes, 1 cup of AP flour, 1 tsp baking soda and 3 tbs of reserved bacon drippings and enough milk to make a pourable batter. This was then cooked in a cast iron skillet, which I had lightly greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Made this for the recipe group this week and didn't think it was too bad! Made the first three boxties using just a dash of salt and pepper seasonings and they were okay. Those ones were good if you wanted to put toppings on them. After those three, I threw in about 1/2 tsp garlic salt, a clove of minced garlic, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp coarse ground black pepper and some dried parsley to add a little bit of color since we were having them with with our St. Patrick's Day dinner. Pretty delish by themselves, with a dollop of sour cream or a little smear of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I like this dish for simplicity of the potato flavor...mine was not too floury tasting at all. I baked a huge potato in the oven like the recipe said to, and I grated a large red potato, skin and all for some extra color. I did top mine with just a sprinkle of parmigiano-regianno cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made this for Recipe group. Maybe I was expecting more. Hubby thought they tasted all right to him. First skilletfull I used 1/2 tsp each s&p, really really bland, course they are just potatoes. Added another 1/2 tsp of s&p at that point, much better. I used the powdered buttermilk, I thought they were really soupy, but they cooked up ok. Used 2 medium size potatoes for each set of potatoes. I thought they tasted pretty gummy and floury, but as I said maybe I was expecting more. They did taste better with a little sour cream, and some butter and/or cheese would be good. Some spices in there would make these really good, maybe some garlic and onion powder. Thanks for the recipe myka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These reminded me of the potato patties my mother made from left-over mashed potatoes when I was growing up. Because of Keri's review about some of the grated potatoes still tasting raw, I chose to use the smaller holes on the grater. The inside tasted soft, like mashed potatoes. I substituted milk and vinegar for the buttermilk, and I cut the recipe in half. I used a 1/4 cup measure to make 7 patties. I cooked each side 5 minutes as the recipe stated. I tried them with just butter, then with butter and honey, and finally with grated cheese. I prefer the ones with cheese. I did not find them to be "crispy" as the recipe stated, but they did make a pretty good lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were okay, but it would be helpful to have actual measurements for the salt and pepper. It's hard to season something like this "to taste". I felt like I had added a LOT of salt and pepper, but they still needed more. Also, the raw potato doesn't get cooked very well, so I might adapt the recipe next time by par-cooking the shredded potato before mixing it with the other ingredients. Other than that, the flavor was good. I, too, "baked" my potatoes in the microwave instead of the oven to save time. I had to use a buttermilk substitute (milk + vinegar), so I'd like to try them with real buttermilk next time. I served them topped with sour cream and a little shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I boiled my potatoes in the microwave instead of the oven. Done in 4 minutes :-) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPIE THX MOM. I WILL GET AN A ON MY PROJECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States