Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My family loves this!! I make it with hot sausage and skip the pepper flakes and add a little more pasta and cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe - easy & my family LOVED it Only change - I added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Have made this twice. Super yummy both times. The first time I used dried basil and some spinach I had on-hand; just enough spinach to add some color. The second time, I made the meat/sauce the day before. I had some half and half and some heavy whipping cream I needed to use up, so combined those to make the 1-1/2 cups light cream called for. The next day as I boiled the pasta it occurred to me that mushrooms might be a nice addition, so I caramelized some sliced, fresh 'shrooms, and when they were ready, added the meat/sauce. When that was hot I added the fresh basil and cooked pasta, and about 1/4 cup of 2% milk as the sauce was getting a little thick. The fresh basil flavor combined with the Johnsonville Italian Sweet Sausage and just the touch of heat from the red pepper flakes is truly sensational. Served this with a salad of greens dressed with oil and Balsamic Vinegar, Craisins, and grated fresh Parmesan. Hubby and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe was awesome! The only thing I did not like was the large amount of cream needed as the fat content is quite high. Otherwise, was absolutely delicious for a splurging dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Amazing!!! Huge hit with the family. Only change I made is added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Didn't change a thing and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I tried this last night and it was so yummy! My girls and I loved it! It's sweet, savory and creamy with a little kick! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Napua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Tried it last night and it was amazing! Loved the heat from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Awesome, crowd pleasing, comfort food. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
There is a reason this recipe is getting 5 stars! It is delicious! Make a whole batch so you have enough leftover for lunch the next day because you will want some! I love to use a combo of Johnsonville All Natural Mild and Hot Ground Sausage because it gives it just the right amount of heat for even little guys to savor--in which case I didn't add the red pepper flakes. Fresh basil is an absolute must in this recipe! This will be on my menu for next week for sure! Thanks, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States