Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
WOW!!this is now one of my families favorite recipes! I did change the sausage to J.C. Potters hot breakfast sausage simply because that's what we like!Everthing else I tried to follow closely but could not find but (no KIDDING)2 twigs of basil--so I used that and added 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil and that worked very well. I was lucky enough to have fresh garden tomatoes and believe fresh is always better if possible.This is a very addicting recipe and oh so good!!I gave dd and sil half (it Made A lot),Sil said he could eat the whole bowl--- We ALL agreed*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My family loves this!! I make it with hot sausage and skip the pepper flakes and add a little more pasta and cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe - easy & my family LOVED it Only change - I added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Have made this twice. Super yummy both times. The first time I used dried basil and some spinach I had on-hand; just enough spinach to add some color. The second time, I made the meat/sauce the day before. I had some half and half and some heavy whipping cream I needed to use up, so combined those to make the 1-1/2 cups light cream called for. The next day as I boiled the pasta it occurred to me that mushrooms might be a nice addition, so I caramelized some sliced, fresh 'shrooms, and when they were ready, added the meat/sauce. When that was hot I added the fresh basil and cooked pasta, and about 1/4 cup of 2% milk as the sauce was getting a little thick. The fresh basil flavor combined with the Johnsonville Italian Sweet Sausage and just the touch of heat from the red pepper flakes is truly sensational. Served this with a salad of greens dressed with oil and Balsamic Vinegar, Craisins, and grated fresh Parmesan. Hubby and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe was awesome! The only thing I did not like was the large amount of cream needed as the fat content is quite high. Otherwise, was absolutely delicious for a splurging dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Amazing!!! Huge hit with the family. Only change I made is added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Didn't change a thing and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I tried this last night and it was so yummy! My girls and I loved it! It's sweet, savory and creamy with a little kick! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Napua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Tried it last night and it was amazing! Loved the heat from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Awesome, crowd pleasing, comfort food. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States