Bowties and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I think when you read this recipe, you can see that it would be bland. There is no mixing of the flavors. So, I did steam my broccoli in my Micro steamer for 2 to 3 min. Then I added the broccoli to the garlic in the skillet to saute, for about 2 min... set aside off fire with lid on it for about 2 min. I then put the broccoli, garlic and cheese in with pasta, put on lid and let that set as I finished the rest of dinner about 10 min. O and I forgot to save the pasta water, so I put in 3tbs of chicken broth.. I only made 1/2 of this recipe as there is only two of us. You have to let the flavors meld. I did not change the recipe just the course of how its prepared to more flavor. If you want more garlic taste too, add a few cloves to your pasta water as it cooks. Thanks... I tried this because broccoli and pasta is my sons favs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a standard Italian dish...I like to cook the broccoli in with the pasta for the last 5 mins...then drain. I use closer to 8 cloves of garlic, saute in oil, add pasta water and 1/2 cup of chicken broth..simmer so flavors meld.Mix all together and add plenty of grated cheese and fresh ground pepper. Make it into a meal by adding shrimp or Italian sausage to the garlic and oil, then combine everything! Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
If you are looking for a pasta dish without a heavy cream or tomato sauce, this received rave reviews from diners. I added toasted pine nuts (1/2 cup), sauteed red pepper flakes (1 tsp.) to give the recipe some depth. By request I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was a simple almost healthy dish. I used whole wheat elbow pasta since I had it on hand. I also boiled the broccoli since I don't have a steamer. I sauteed red pepper flakes with the garlic & I poured the oil in until I got a nice consistancy. This was loved by my 3 children. I will be making this cheap dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I had to add a little extra to this b/c it just sounded bland. Instead of bowties, I used Barilla tortellini (large package), and instead of just garlic, I used 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash Tomato, Basil and Garlic mix (I think next time I'm going to add 2 tsp instead--to give it more flavor). It came out WONDERFUL. This is such a good recipe. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now, actually. Also, instead of just Romano, I used Kraft's Parmesan, Romano and Asiago cheese mix---but only b/c my store didn't have just Romano. Hubby even said this was a keeper and he's not one for pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Wonderful! I did make some changes-I cut the recipe in half & didn't measure the broccoli; I just eyeballed it. I also used penne pasta; all I had on hand. I only used 1/4 cup cheese (used a parmesan/romano blend) & that was really all it needed. I also didn't use the pasta water-also found that unnecessary! I cut up 1 lb chicken, seasoned it with italian seasoning & garlic & added that to the pasta/broccoli for a one-dish meal. I also used 2 tsp Mrs Dash tomato basil garlic blend which made it taste great; highly recommended! A very tasty, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe tremendously! Even my 3 year old! I did make some changes though; instead of Romano I used parmesan cheese, instead of steaming the broccoli separately I added to the garlic and oil and covered for about 10 minutes, instead of plain salt I used garlic salt and because our family loves garlic, I used about 10 total garlic loves. This recipe was easy, extremely tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The basic recipe is good, but it's not enough. You need to add plenty of other spices...garlic powder, italian seasoning, salt, and basil were my choices. I also thought that it would be really dull with just broccoli, pasta, and spices so I spiced it up a bit with hard salami chunks and pepperoni slices. It was a huge success at our family christmas party! I sauteed the garlic as prescribed and steamed the broccoli. Thanks for the great base recipe, I just like my pasta salad with a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Just tried this.... It is tastes great, and I love the garlic, but for next time I think definitely some chicken would add greatly to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Marta
Home Town: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very good recipe! Next time I will use more broccoli, but other than that, it was a perfect dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States