Bowties and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
If you are looking for a pasta dish without a heavy cream or tomato sauce, this received rave reviews from diners. I added toasted pine nuts (1/2 cup), sauteed red pepper flakes (1 tsp.) to give the recipe some depth. By request I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Delicious and simple! I added just a bit of Italian salad dressing before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I had to add a little extra to this b/c it just sounded bland. Instead of bowties, I used Barilla tortellini (large package), and instead of just garlic, I used 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash Tomato, Basil and Garlic mix (I think next time I'm going to add 2 tsp instead--to give it more flavor). It came out WONDERFUL. This is such a good recipe. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now, actually. Also, instead of just Romano, I used Kraft's Parmesan, Romano and Asiago cheese mix---but only b/c my store didn't have just Romano. Hubby even said this was a keeper and he's not one for pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Wonderful! I did make some changes-I cut the recipe in half & didn't measure the broccoli; I just eyeballed it. I also used penne pasta; all I had on hand. I only used 1/4 cup cheese (used a parmesan/romano blend) & that was really all it needed. I also didn't use the pasta water-also found that unnecessary! I cut up 1 lb chicken, seasoned it with italian seasoning & garlic & added that to the pasta/broccoli for a one-dish meal. I also used 2 tsp Mrs Dash tomato basil garlic blend which made it taste great; highly recommended! A very tasty, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I make this all the time...good and simple. I like it with fresh romano on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I thought it was good, but pretty bland. Maybe some red pepper flakes and a little italian dressing would've spiced it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I really did not care for this receipe. I cut this recipe in half, and instead of sliced garlic, I used minced garlic (the one that comes in the jar)and added Mrs. Dash's Tomato-Basil-Garlic seasoning. To me it had too much garlic flavor... Maybe it was because I used the minced garlic instead of the sliced garlic, I don't know. I like garlic, but I do not like tasting garlic hours later after I ate .... Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very bland. Ended up putting a jar of Alfredo sauce on top of it. Added additional seasonings though I reduced the minced garlic amount. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe was pretty bland, but a great base recipe and concept. I added red pepper (like someone suggested), more garlic, and basic Italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Just tried this.... It is tastes great, and I love the garlic, but for next time I think definitely some chicken would add greatly to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Marta
Home Town: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States