Bowties and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I make a version of this in which you sautee 1 anchovie, with the garlic and a pinch of pepper flakes, before adding the broccoli and finally the pasta, and for gods sake use fresh grated cheese! it only takes a few minutes and tastes better then that waxy tasing kraft stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I think when you read this recipe, you can see that it would be bland. There is no mixing of the flavors. So, I did steam my broccoli in my Micro steamer for 2 to 3 min. Then I added the broccoli to the garlic in the skillet to saute, for about 2 min... set aside off fire with lid on it for about 2 min. I then put the broccoli, garlic and cheese in with pasta, put on lid and let that set as I finished the rest of dinner about 10 min. O and I forgot to save the pasta water, so I put in 3tbs of chicken broth.. I only made 1/2 of this recipe as there is only two of us. You have to let the flavors meld. I did not change the recipe just the course of how its prepared to more flavor. If you want more garlic taste too, add a few cloves to your pasta water as it cooks. Thanks... I tried this because broccoli and pasta is my sons favs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a standard Italian dish...I like to cook the broccoli in with the pasta for the last 5 mins...then drain. I use closer to 8 cloves of garlic, saute in oil, add pasta water and 1/2 cup of chicken broth..simmer so flavors meld.Mix all together and add plenty of grated cheese and fresh ground pepper. Make it into a meal by adding shrimp or Italian sausage to the garlic and oil, then combine everything! Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Very good recipe! Next time I will use more broccoli, but other than that, it was a perfect dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was a simple almost healthy dish. I used whole wheat elbow pasta since I had it on hand. I also boiled the broccoli since I don't have a steamer. I sauteed red pepper flakes with the garlic & I poured the oil in until I got a nice consistancy. This was loved by my 3 children. I will be making this cheap dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The basic recipe is good, but it's not enough. You need to add plenty of other spices...garlic powder, italian seasoning, salt, and basil were my choices. I also thought that it would be really dull with just broccoli, pasta, and spices so I spiced it up a bit with hard salami chunks and pepperoni slices. It was a huge success at our family christmas party! I sauteed the garlic as prescribed and steamed the broccoli. Thanks for the great base recipe, I just like my pasta salad with a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, but my children were not impressed. I will make it occasionally, but not as often as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Just tried this.... It is tastes great, and I love the garlic, but for next time I think definitely some chicken would add greatly to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Marta
Home Town: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe was pretty bland, but a great base recipe and concept. I added red pepper (like someone suggested), more garlic, and basic Italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States