Bowties and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Not enough flavor for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I steam fresh brocolli all the time but never thought of tossing it with pasta.Good way of getting the kids to eat their veggies. You can also take about 5 or more cloves and slice the garlic and then put the cloves in a bowl and combine with some olive oil. Then take that garlic and put in the bottom of your steamer, then the brocoli. Drizzle the broccoli with some more oil then steam. It will infuse the broccoli and cook the garlic at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Quick and simple! Next time I will add some chopped fresh basil to the oil and garlic to add flavor to the somewhat bland cheese sauce. But as simple as it is, it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Very good and very simple. I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
We added sweet sausage, red pepper flakes, and extra garlic. Also substituted chicken broth for the pasta water and then sauteed everything together for a few minutes. Turned out EXCELLENT - we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was really good. My only suggestions are to increase the amount of broccoli and throw in some extra cheese. Otherwise wouldn't change anything. I don't agree with other reviewers that it's too bland. The Pecorino Romano gives it a lot of flavor. Make sure you put on a generous seasoning of pepper--that perks it up even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I loved it. My husband wanted to add some grilled chicken. We'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I love pasta and I love broccoli, so decided to give this a try. I took note of reviewers'comments and made some changes. While steaming the broccoli and cooking the pasta, I sauteed some turkey Italian sausage (remove casings) in a little olive oil, adding the garlic and some red pepper flakes in the final minutes of cooking. Then I mixed the steamed broccoli, drained pasta, sausage and cheese all together. I ddi add some of the pasta water to give it a little "juice". I'd recommend using either chiecken or trkey Italian sausage, and use spicy if you find it gives it some additional flavor. This is a nice dish; the original recipe is a bit ho-hum and suggests using way too much olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was good but lacking in flavor. I didn't seem to be able to add enough seasonsings. I think next time I will let the dish cool and toss with Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by studiorouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States