Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Found this while looking for some inspiration for dinner to mix it up a bit and use some sausage I had in my fridge. Good enough recipe though I made some slight adjustments like folding in some fresh made mascarpone cheese I had left over with the heavy creme, cutting the pepper flakes out and using far different sausage and adding a splash of white wine. It's a kind of half béchamel sauce with tomatoes, where the sausage takes the place of what ever other pork you'd normally use. The real reason I replied though is in response to the poster who found this sauce flavorless. If heavy cream, sausage, roma tomatoes, red pepper, and an onion doesn't have any flavor for you, you aren't salting well enough. I didn't really follow any of the measurements on the recipe itself, hence why I originally wasn't going to reply, but always salt to taste unless you're baking. When cooking the recipe is just a guide line, if things don't look right or don't look like they will come out the way you personally like them, then make adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very bland. I'd recommend draining the tomatoes into the pan, to start. The tomatoes are the most exciting thing about this dish and as the recipe is written, you're pouring all that flavor down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is soo good! Just substituted mild italian sausage and diced italian tomatoes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Hildebrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The whole family loved this recipe. I made no alterations and I used Bob Evans zesty Italian ground sausage. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe and it turned out great! This will be a regular item on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Kid approved and super easy! This will definitely be added to our meal rotation. Followed the directions, and it came out just as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Marowelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recipe Spinner
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
About to serve my family. Here goes nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is dish was easy to make, hearty, creamy, and super satisfying. First time I made it I followed the recipe exactly, next time I added some leftover prociutto and pancetta. This is a great basic recipe and also really easy to flare up with a number of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Loved it made it for dinner at my fraternity and high reviews will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This recipe was shared with me at Fort Sill and is one of my FAVORITE go to recipes to serve at home and to take to Military Pot Lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Gale Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States