Bow Ties, Zucchini, Carrots, and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was a hit at my house, but I made revisions based on other reviews. Boiled a 12-oz box of farfalle, drained & set aside. Used 3/4 cup white wine and 1 cup water with 1 chicken boullion cube. Added to the sauteed chicken & allowed it to simmer (covered) for 10 minutes. Sauteed zucchini chunks, sliced red onion, 1/2-lb boiled baby carrots, 8 oz of quartered mushrooms in butter and garlic. Scooped chicken out of the juice & added to the cooked vegetables. Mixed 1 Tspn flour with 1/2 cup sour cream, and blended into boiling chicken liquid, whisking until thickened. Blended the farfalle into the sauce, then added chicken & vegetables. Sprinkled with parmesean cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I made it a few weeks ago, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe made SO much food!!!! Way more than expected. I made some changes... I added onions, browned the chicken by itself with salt, pepper and garlic and then kind of stir fried all the veggies... I didn't use as much of the garlic, probably 8 cloves worth instead of 12. I used some corn starch to thicken the "sauce" though it didn't thicken much but it's ok since I didn't use as much water, therefore it coated the pasta without leaving a mess at the bottom. The cheese did not melt into the sauce, it globbed together. I had to fish it out and then add Parmesan as a topping instead. I used the full amount of carrots but couldn't even fit the full amount of zucchini in the large, deep skillet I had! That's a heck of a lot of veggies... I had to cook things in stages and add it to a humongous bowl afterward, to toss everything together. Next time I will definitely halve the recipe. 5/6 people in my family liked it. I served this food with honey-yogurt berry salad and a green salad to make a filling but low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
make this all the time now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was good, but I modified the recipe using reviewers comments. I didn't boil the carrots, I sauteed them with the zucchini and garlic. I also added cornstarch to my sauce, and subbed in white wine in place of the water, so the sauce really clung to the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
What a great dish! So simple and light and very satisfying! No need to boil the carrots in a seperate pot; soften them in the pan before adding the zucchini and go from there. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent flavor, though I had to change a few things that did not make sense. There was way too much liquid so had to boil down the broth and finally the added cheese thickened the sauce. I also cut in half the amount of pasta as it overwhelmed the veggies. Great recipe and easy to modify to your taste with the addition or subtraction of other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I only used about 1/2 as much of the veggies and the garlic. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medeya
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
You dont need that much broth for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medeya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I didn't make the sauce because my kids prefer an olive oil sauce ( i know plain). I added frozen peas and a yellow squash. I make this a lot with whatever veggies I have and leftover baked chicken and whatever pasta I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States