Bow Tie Tuna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a keeper for our family. I don't eat meat and I can easily leave the tuna out of this or take my share before adding the tuna last. The only change I made was to replace the milk with 1/4 cup of olive oil and a 1/2 cup of water for a healthier alternative, which is on the back of the pesto mix packet. This was delicious and I will be making it again soon, I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Really good for a canned tuna recipe! I'm impressed. I did have to make some changes, mostly because I couldn't find the creamy pesto sauce mix. I did find a non-creamy pesto sauce mix (Simply Organic Sweet Basil Pesto - 0.53 oz) and used that instead. The directions on the packet said to use 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup water, so I used that instead of the margarine and milk. To make it more rich in nutrients, I used a whole 8 oz. carton of mushrooms and doubled the spinach. We topped it off with parmesan cheese and it was a delightful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I was so suprised at how much my family enjoyed this! I used egg noodles instead of bowtie and added broccoli, carrots and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferqueron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I cooked the tomatoes and mushrooms with the pasta for 5 minutes. And I "cooked" the spinach by draining the pasta over it (works perfectly every time.) I think it needs some cheese. Tastes good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was really, really good. Even my husband, who rarely comments about dinner, was raving about it to his co-workers. Substituted Whole Wheat bow ties, used a couple teaspoons of jarred pesto (couldn't find the mix), and omitted the tomatoes (couldn't find any really good ones). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very tasty! Good hot and cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
It was ok... kind of bland. We probably won't use this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good dish! I used extra spinach and mushrooms, garlic and herb sauce, 2 cans of tuna, and not so much pasta. My boyfriend is not too excited about my "healthy" dishes but loved this one!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Very easy to make and my husband loved it. I used a jar of actual pesto instead of the dried mix with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandybird
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is a very tasty way to use canned tuna! I ended up using about twice as much pesto. I also sauteed some onions and celery in butter before starting with the milk and pesto step. I used a little more spinach than the recipe called for just because I like spinach and I had a lot to use. It turned out very well! Fair warning, the spinach and mushrooms will release liquid as they cook so drain your pasta well. I am glad that I used twice as much pesto because there would have been too little flavor if I'd used the recommended amount. You may want to add garlic or a little something to jazz it up. Will gladly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States