Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was really easy and tasted great. I used gluten free sweet Italian sausage with a bell pepper & onion mix (a bought cut up & ready mix for fajitas). I actually cooked the onions with the sausage first, then added the bell peppers. I added in some salt & pepper, garlic, red pepper flakes and fresh basil. Tossed with gluten free penne for me, and regular for the family. Sprinkled in mozzarella and Parmesan cheese for extra yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Yay!! A new recipe to add to my short list of "things my husband will eat"! i made this last night and he liked it. I added a few things: two teaspoons of sourcream (at the end to give it a smoother texture), one beef bullion cube, red peppers, and red pepper flakes. I wouldn't say these additions were necessary, but they worked well. It turned out spicy! But awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Sausage and peppers, or sausage and peppers with pasta? – nothing new to me. Adding beef broth to the mix? Never have. I don’t know if that’s what was responsible or not, or if I just plain love pasta, sausage and peppers, but this – was – excellent. Used rigatoni rather than farfalle and, unlike other reviewers, did NOT use the grease rendered by the sausage. Rather, I removed the cooked sausage from the pan, cleaned it out, then cooked green and red peppers, onions, garlic and mushrooms in olive oil before returning the cooked sausage to the pan, adding the beef broth, then reducing somewhat. Tossed it all together with a good dab of butter. A sprinkling of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano was the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
To cut the fat and calories I use Turkey Italian Sausage, Low Sodium Beef Broth and Wheat Pasta. These ingrediants do not effect the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
WOW! When I read the reviews, I couldn't believe such a simple recipe could get such great reviews, but made it because I had the ingredients and no time. So delicious! I only had 1/2 of a green and yellow and added 1/2 an onion. Kept the fat in and sprinkled in italian seasoning, 1Tbs of flour for a thicker sauce and 1c of broth. Also added a drained can of diced tomatoes. It was beautiful, tasted wonderful, and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So nice to have a tasty pasta dish without red or cream sauce. To cut down the fat content, we use Italian Seasoned Ground Turkey and it tastes great, even with the beef broth. A nice variation is to saute red bell peppers and/or diced onions with the sausage. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My fairly picky 7 year old asked for seconds! Enough said. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was very good!! I used both spicy and sweet Italian sausages, 1 green pepper & 1 red pepper, plus onion & garlic. After cutting up the peppers, onion & garlic, I sprinkled them with Italian herb, oregano and garlic pepper. I set them aside and browned the sausages in a little olive oil (took the advise of another reviewer and did not drain after cooking the sausage). Then, I added the pepper mixture and cooked it for about 7 minutes before adding a full can of beef broth. After that was all hot & blended, I added the penne that I already cooked, and it turned out delicious. Served it with tossed salad and bakery fresh bread. This is going straight into the monthly rotation for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
So easy and sooo good. I couldn't believe how much flavor there was to this and honestly I was getting tired of forcing red sauces on my tweens who don't like it. They have now eaten half of this recipe, starting to wonder if there will be enough for the rest of us. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States