Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
WOW! The first time I tried this recipe I thought it was way too simple to be a 5-star recipe, but boy, was I wrong! DELICIOUS and SO QUICK! It is a welcomed change from pastas with tomatoes and/or red sauce. UPDATE 1/03/09 -- I've made this recipe SO many times now; it's a favorite with hubby and all three kids. They actually get excited when I tell them we're having this for dinner. Here's how I've come to modify this recipe: I use half hot Italian and half sweet Italian sausage with casings removed (about 4 links each); I fry this in a little olive oil until browned, then add sliced onion and both red and green peppers for color; I continue cooking until sausage is done and veggies are tender; then I add one full can of College Inn beef broth plus 1-2 T beef base, plus 2/3 lb. cooked pasta (we like Cavatelli and bow ties), and also add a sprinkling of crushed red pepper flakes, about 1 tsp. black pepper and salt to taste. TIP: For lots of flavor, DON'T drain the sausage. Sure, it's not good for your hips or heart, but boy does it kick this up! After making this dozens of times, I really think this is key to great flavor. Afterall, if you're serving sausage for dinner, you're really not expecting a healthy meal, right? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Love this recipe with a few minor tweaks: 1 can of diced tgomatoes, one yellow and one red bell pepper which makes it sweeter, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. ground rosemary, 1/2 tsp. oregano, 1 small yellow onion, chopped. Sweat the onion with the spices BEFORE adding peppers, tomatoes and sausage. Let simmer for 15 minutes and then add the beef broth. Let simmer for another 15 minutes, toss with pasta, and enjoy. It is FABULOUSLY flavorful this way, especially with fresh grated parmesan on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I was intrigued by the simplicity of this recipe and also by the rich beef flavor from the sauce. My husband is not too fond of tomatoes or tomato sauces, so this was an ideal alternative. It was quick and delicious. I modified the recipe by using only a half a pound of sweet italian sausage, freeing the meat from its casing and cooking it loose. I also added a half a pound of sliced mushrooms to the bellpeppers, which really added a mellow taste and added flavor to the beefiness of the broth. I added a little bit more beef broth than the recipe called for, and really let it soak into the pasta. At the end I added a small dollop of butter to smooth out the sauce, although this of course adds a little fat to an otherwise fairly lean recipe. Just a light dusting of Hungarian paprika and Lawry's seasoning salt also added a bit of flavor, but I would venture this would be unnecessary if the beef broth used was salty to begin with. I think this recipe could even be a great noodle dish using just vegetables, broth, and farfalle. The sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Sausage and peppers, or sausage and peppers with pasta? – nothing new to me. Adding beef broth to the mix? Never have. I don’t know if that’s what was responsible or not, or if I just plain love pasta, sausage and peppers, but this – was – excellent. Used rigatoni rather than farfalle and, unlike other reviewers, did NOT use the grease rendered by the sausage. Rather, I removed the cooked sausage from the pan, cleaned it out, then cooked green and red peppers, onions, garlic and mushrooms in olive oil before returning the cooked sausage to the pan, adding the beef broth, then reducing somewhat. Tossed it all together with a good dab of butter. A sprinkling of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano was the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I used a package of Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage which is slightly over 1 pound. I crumbled it up and added minced garlic to taste. I boiled a 12 oz. box of bowtie pasta and used 1 can of Campbell's Beef Broth in the sausage mixture. I omitted salt because the beef broth had enough salt in it. I didn't have peppers so I used 1 cup of canned peas. I will make this again and prepare it as written and I also want to try this with a jar of roasted red peppers or a bag of frozen stirfry peppers and onions (cook them separate from the sausage to carmelize, then add to the sausage.) This recipe has many possibitlites. Because I used 12 oz. of pasta, it was necessary to use the entire can of beef broth and each bowtie was covered with the sauce and it was not runny. I served this with fresh grated parm cheese on top, french bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Great and easy recipe. I double the amount of beef broth, and add fresh sliced mushrooms. Instead of 2 green bell peppers, I use 1 red, 1 orange, and 1 yellow bell pepper. This makes the dish more colorful and less bitter - the green bell peppers taste bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I made this for a class project almost 2 years ago and liked it so much I continue to make it. I buy the frozen peppers from Trader Joe's (they are red, yellow and green already sliced so this saves lots of time)It makes great left overs as well! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Good but with some additions. Veggies, veggies, veggies....minced onion and garlic sauteed with the sausage. Added chopped red roasted pepper and sun dried tomatoes. Instead of cutting up fresh peppers I added a half bag of frozen peppers and onion. Topped with asiago and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've been making this recipe so long, I may have already reviewed it. However, I don't think that I have and that's a shame because this recipe is a keeper for my family, and has been for years! I use 2 lbs of Italian sausage (I prefer the type that is ground and found in a roll, I think it's Bob Evans brand, fresh peppers and instead of the beef broth I make up a package of Au Juice for the gravy. (Sometimes, Au Juice can be found in can with the soups, but I cannot find it anymore...it was so much better than the envelope mix that I have to purchase now). This substitution of Au Juice makes a world of difference in the overall flavor of this dish! With just four ingredients, (pasta, sausage, peppers, au juice) this dish is delicious! If you want to get "fancy", throw in some mushrooms or onions, or whatever to make it your own....but it's GREAT with just those four ingredients. My family requests this frequently, and I feed a hungry crowd of teenaged boys. One of those quick, easy, and go-to meals. Serve with crusty bread and salad. Thanks to KSUDA for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I added 2 cans diced tomatos and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States