Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Super easy to make. I didn't have beef broth so I used chicken instead. It came out good and I had it for leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygirl03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
We are big Sweet Italian Sausage people,as unhealthy as it is,we still love it!This recipe is a nice change from a red sauce and my hubby really enjoys this.I use red,green and yellow peppers,they add such nice color and also chopped onion.I have to feed this to 5 big pasta fans so I use 2 whole packs of sausage and about 1 1/2 cups of beef broth.We like it with bow tie pasta and a green salad.I cook my sausage in a different pan than my veggies then I add them together at the end.The veggies maintain their shape and texture this way in my opinion and it's a little less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was really easy and tasted great. I used gluten free sweet Italian sausage with a bell pepper & onion mix (a bought cut up & ready mix for fajitas). I actually cooked the onions with the sausage first, then added the bell peppers. I added in some salt & pepper, garlic, red pepper flakes and fresh basil. Tossed with gluten free penne for me, and regular for the family. Sprinkled in mozzarella and Parmesan cheese for extra yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Yay!! A new recipe to add to my short list of "things my husband will eat"! i made this last night and he liked it. I added a few things: two teaspoons of sourcream (at the end to give it a smoother texture), one beef bullion cube, red peppers, and red pepper flakes. I wouldn't say these additions were necessary, but they worked well. It turned out spicy! But awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Sausage and peppers, or sausage and peppers with pasta? – nothing new to me. Adding beef broth to the mix? Never have. I don’t know if that’s what was responsible or not, or if I just plain love pasta, sausage and peppers, but this – was – excellent. Used rigatoni rather than farfalle and, unlike other reviewers, did NOT use the grease rendered by the sausage. Rather, I removed the cooked sausage from the pan, cleaned it out, then cooked green and red peppers, onions, garlic and mushrooms in olive oil before returning the cooked sausage to the pan, adding the beef broth, then reducing somewhat. Tossed it all together with a good dab of butter. A sprinkling of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano was the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
To cut the fat and calories I use Turkey Italian Sausage, Low Sodium Beef Broth and Wheat Pasta. These ingrediants do not effect the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
WOW! When I read the reviews, I couldn't believe such a simple recipe could get such great reviews, but made it because I had the ingredients and no time. So delicious! I only had 1/2 of a green and yellow and added 1/2 an onion. Kept the fat in and sprinkled in italian seasoning, 1Tbs of flour for a thicker sauce and 1c of broth. Also added a drained can of diced tomatoes. It was beautiful, tasted wonderful, and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So nice to have a tasty pasta dish without red or cream sauce. To cut down the fat content, we use Italian Seasoned Ground Turkey and it tastes great, even with the beef broth. A nice variation is to saute red bell peppers and/or diced onions with the sausage. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States