Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was okay maybe need to add some other ingredients for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Easy and tasty! Might try adding a little mustard next time- like a sausage "hot dog" with peppers and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I hope you like sausage and peppers, because obviously there's not much else to this dish. I used penne pasta in place of farfalle and instead chunked up some ground Italian sausage rather than cutting up links since my local grocery store was having a sale. I also added a bit of onion and garlic in hope of increasing the flavor intensity and complexity. While that helped a little bit, I'm just not terribly impressed with this dish. I felt like the quantity of pepper and sausage was just too high for the amount of pasta suggested, and also, while the sausage, pepper, and beef broth combination is termed a sauce, it doesn't eat like one. I see at least one reviewer enjoys this recipe by tweaking it with a can of diced tomatoes. Seems like the right direction anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I have look at the picture, the dish is penne pasta and it looks like a tomato sauce and the peppers are sliiced using both red and green peppers. tried this recipe and my family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is one of those meals you can make in 20 mins but sometimes I find that the pasta kinda gets a bitterish taste. Just slightly bitterish. Has anyone else experienced this and what causes it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanjeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My family loves this recipe me and my bother beg my mom to make this all the time !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Like many others, when I read this I thought, this is not going to be so great. However, I stand corrected. I added red bell pepper, onions, and an extra 1/2 cup of broth. It was terrific. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe was a good base in which to put my own spin on things, like I always do. I used a Johnsonville Beef Sausage. Red, Green and Yellow Peppers, Onions, and Fresh Mushrooms. I used Tri-Color Rigatoni. Couple pinches of salt and pepper. Tbsp of garlic powder. Mixed everything together and let sit over low heat for about 30 minutes. Top with some grated parm cheese. Eat it up! Nom-nom-nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I thought this recipe was very, very good. Normally I dislike it when chefs post all of their alterations to the recipe. Since this one did have 197 reviews, I did take some of them into consideration~~to a great attribute to this recipe. Sauteed onion, garlic, italian seasoning, 8 oz mushrooms and peppers in olive oil. I like using the frozen pepper trio in soups so I decided to try it in this. Next time I will use fresh red and yellow peppers. The frozen ones added a little too much liquid which I had to drain. Browned the ital sausage and apparently it was pretty lean as I didn't need to drain. I added 2 cups of beef "stock" (mixed with a Tbs. of beef base) Added the drained farfalle (12 oz) to the sausage & stock and let it simmer for 10 minutes to help absorb the flavor into the pasta which I had cooked al dente to avoid it being overcooked. Added the cooked veggies, some red pepper flakes and a dash of smoked paparika to the dish. Let it simmer tossing often to absorb the stock into the pasta, veggies and sausage. Delicious!! The only thing I will do different next time, is to add a Tbs of corn starch to the stock, add to the sausage and let it come to a boil to thicken. This step to help the wonderful sauce adhere to the pasta. Such a wonderful way to make an Italian pasta dish without a tomato or cream base. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Rating this 4 stars because I made a couple changes but my family really enjoyed it!! I was thinking it would be too plain but it ended up being really tasty! I ended up using some frozen sliced peppers, onions, zuchini and potato mix instead of cutting up peppers by hand. I couldnt find a straight-up pepper mix so I got this kind and it worked out well. I cooked my sausage and then removed from the pan to cool. While it was cooling, I added a can of Italian flavor diced tomotoes to the pan. I am a sauce person so I wanted this meal to have a little more liquid to it. I then added my pepper mix and also the cup of beef broth. I then sliced up the sausage and added, then let it cook up for about 10 more minutes to really get the flavor going. I served over bowties. So really, the only big change I made was add a can of diced tomatoes and we all really loved it. Definitely a make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States