Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Did not care for this at all. Nobody liked it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious quick and easy. I have just found out for the first time ever that I have high cholesterol so I have been loooking for low fat recipes. This was perfect...I found a very good Italian sausage made of chicken and used red and green peppers for aesthetic purposes. I also sauteed a little garlic and some onion in olive oil before cooking the peppers. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Edwards Cook VanDyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Quick and easy to make! I couldn't find the type of sausage the recipe calls for so I used 1/2 a smoked sausage and 1/2 a jalapeno sausage. It was so good!! I cut a whole onion into it and used a few peppers from a jar of roasted red peppers instead of 2 green bell peppers. Wow. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wow this was wonderful. I used Hot Italian sausage and red pepper flakes too. Yummy and super easy. Husband loved it! Oh also added a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Good, hearty, quick meal! I could have sworn there was a box of farfelle pasta in the pantry, but there wasn't, so I opted for penne. It turned out great, just not as pretty as bow ties. :) I used hot italian sausage (we like spicy!) and both red & green bell peppers for more color. I tossed in a couple cloves of sliced garlic & chopped onion to it and we really enjoyed this. Since I used the entire 14oz box of pasta, I used a full can of beef broth (it may seem too soupy at first, but if you cook the pasta till just al dente & add it to the skillet with the rest of the goodies while they're still hot, it'll soak up a good portion of the broth). Next time, I'll use farfelle for a more appropriate picture. :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe although needing a little tweaking is sooo yummy! My alterations were using a frozen bag of green and red peppers and onions and a can of beef broth. It does make it a little more liquidy but after you combine them the pasta will soak up the liquid some anyhow. I also used several different spices/herbs and sprinkled with parm cheese before serving. Its a start and needs a little adjustments to your tastes but its different and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Found this recipe when I had some sausage and rainbow peppers in the fridge that needed to be used up, and didn't want a tomato-based sauce. Thought the recipe seemed almost too simple,but wow...it was very hearty, tasty, and satisfying. Based on other reviews, I also increased the amount of beefstock (and made it double-strength), and added portobella mushrooms. Also parboiled the sausages in beer to cut back on the fat...which I then added back in with a healthy sprinkling of parmesan reggiano on top! :-) Overall, a great, quick weeknight meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'm a newer cook so at this point I always look for easy recipes to start with and grow my ability and this one was perfect. I made a few changes using what others suggested. I used 1 red, green and 1/2 yellow pepper, 1/2 sweet one and 3 cloves of garlic that I sauteed in a little butter separately from the meat. I also seasoned the vegetables with onion and garlic powder and salt before adding to the meat which I seasoned with the same spices. I used 2pds of ground italian sausage and a little over a cup of the broth. Next time I'll reduce how much broth I used to a cup. To thicken the broth up I used some flour and it was perfect. Since I doubled the meat and veggies. I used 1pd of pasta. My boyfriend, who is an amazing cook, fell in love with this @ first bite and asked me to teach him how to make it. This is another one for my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Battle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Eh. This is not enough liquid. Like some other reviewers mentioned, I added minced onion and garlic. Used hot Ital sausage. I added 1 cup of beef stock. But, it needs more flavor. Needs more liquid. Maybe a wine reduction?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was so good leftover. i also used cheese flavored sausages which made it all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States