Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Found this recipe when I had some sausage and rainbow peppers in the fridge that needed to be used up, and didn't want a tomato-based sauce. Thought the recipe seemed almost too simple,but wow...it was very hearty, tasty, and satisfying. Based on other reviews, I also increased the amount of beefstock (and made it double-strength), and added portobella mushrooms. Also parboiled the sausages in beer to cut back on the fat...which I then added back in with a healthy sprinkling of parmesan reggiano on top! :-) Overall, a great, quick weeknight meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'm a newer cook so at this point I always look for easy recipes to start with and grow my ability and this one was perfect. I made a few changes using what others suggested. I used 1 red, green and 1/2 yellow pepper, 1/2 sweet one and 3 cloves of garlic that I sauteed in a little butter separately from the meat. I also seasoned the vegetables with onion and garlic powder and salt before adding to the meat which I seasoned with the same spices. I used 2pds of ground italian sausage and a little over a cup of the broth. Next time I'll reduce how much broth I used to a cup. To thicken the broth up I used some flour and it was perfect. Since I doubled the meat and veggies. I used 1pd of pasta. My boyfriend, who is an amazing cook, fell in love with this @ first bite and asked me to teach him how to make it. This is another one for my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Battle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Eh. This is not enough liquid. Like some other reviewers mentioned, I added minced onion and garlic. Used hot Ital sausage. I added 1 cup of beef stock. But, it needs more flavor. Needs more liquid. Maybe a wine reduction?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was so good leftover. i also used cheese flavored sausages which made it all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I was skeptical because it's such a simple recipe. I decided to give it a shot and glad I did. My family loved it! My husband said this ones a keeper and he's pretty picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I don't know what all the hype is about with this recipe, sorry! I made it tonight for dinner, because I was missing so many ingredients to make something a little more elaborate. I made it exactly as is and it was so bland. It was edible, but quite bland. I should have known from the list of ingredients that it wouldn't be anything fantastic, but the reviews are so great, that I had to try the recipe out. I won't be making this again. There are FAR better sausage pasta recipes out there, and they're just as simple with just a couple more ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great with a few modifications for our tastes. I used a green pepper, yellow pepper and red pepper. I also use ground hot Italian sausage. The sauce is bit runny, so add a little cornstarch in water to thicken it slightly to get it to "stick" a bit better when I toss the pasta with the peppers and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I thought this was great b/c I love all the peppers in there. My husband didn't like it so much - that's why I gave it 4 stars. I also added white wine and hot pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This dish was great. I used half Hot pork sausage and 2 brats of salsiccia sausage (that I pulled out of the brat skins) and I sauted it all and left it in big chunks. I probably added more than a 1/2 cup of water because I wanted more sauce and I put 2 beef bouillon cubes (to make it a beef broth). Then I stirred in about 4 ounces of cream cheese and let it melt and it was delicious. I also didn't drain the juice from the sausage. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This yummy dish was super quick and easy. Our entire family enjoyed this. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States