Bow-Tie Pasta With Red Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I really liked this recipe, but made a few changes to make it a main course instead of a side dish. I used brown rice penne pasta (delicious and healthy) instead of bow-tie. I didn't have any peas, but wish that I did. Also, I only had the little sweet peppers that you ca buy at Costco (red, yellow, and orange), and thought they were a great substitute for just red bell peppers. Added crushed red pepper 1/8 tsp. and 2 cloves minced garlic to the sauce just to give it a little extra kick. Then I baked some chicken brushing it very lightly with EVOO, salt, pepper, basil, and a little minced garlic. YUM!! I served this up layered--pasta, chicken, and smothered with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wallace Clan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
This was pretty good.It had a sweet taste to it. My husband liked it and it is low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I am shocked at how wonderfully tasty and delicious this recipe was. I never would have thought to make a sauce out of bell peppers but this recipe was awesome. What a way to start out my low-call diet! I was afraid I was going to have to eat dull, dry, flavorless food but making this recipe right out of the gate made me more optimistic. I actually made this again but doubled the recipe to make it a main meal and my whole family really enjoyed it, including 2 teens and a toddler, as well as my mother, who was visiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Used a can of white beans instead of the green peas, and a handful of fresh spinach instead of parsley. I thought I was going to need to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce, but after it had simmered for a few minutes with the cooked pasta and the other ingredients, it thickened up on its own nicely. A very healthy but filling main dish and a nice flavor change from pasta sauce made from a tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was an awesome change from the regular old spaghetti sauce. I didn't have peas so I skipped on those but I didn't miss them. This would be awesome over steamed veggies too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
My family loved this pasta! The sauce had a nice bite and couldn't be easier to make even though I had to whip out my blender. ;) I added chicken breast strips that I brushed with olive oil and fresh minced garlic before baking. This recipe is definitely going in our rotation and next time I will double the sauce and make more pasta so we'll have more leftovers. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Easy and good. Portions would be a bit small if this was to serve 6, more like 4 I think. I will add shrimp or chicken to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This was awesome & healthy! I added garlic, more honey, garlic & of course crushed red pepper seeds. I hate peas so omitted them and it was superb! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I thought this was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakeratheart
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was really good. I added red pepper flakes to give it some spice. Also, I substituted the peas with brocoli. I will be making this again. It is a good change instead of using tomato pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States