Bow-Tie Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Delicious basic recipe. Here's how I did it: I cooked the broccoli with the pasta (my family likes their broccoli soft- if yours doesn't, don't add broccoli until the last 5 minutes of cooking time). 2 c. Hellman's Light olive oil mayo, no onions (didn't have any) and added 1/4 tsp of onion powder & 1/4 tsp garlic salt to the mayo mix. I sauteed some chicken strips in a little olive oil, then added a splash of white wine. I then added the pasta/broccoli to the large bowl I had made the mayo mixture in, and added in the chicken. I had tasted the mayo mix before I added the pasta, & it was a little too bland. This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something, I can't put my finger on it. Still, very good and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was easy to follow and tasted great. I did add some "Salad Supreme" to it only because my other favorite pasta salad recipe has this in it. I also threw in some raw cauliflower that I needed to use up. VERY VERSATILE. This would be WONDERFUL with left over chicken or cubed dry salame. This will be on our rotating summer menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I made this pasta salad for a family picnic and everyone loved it. I did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I would give this a 10 star if I could. This by far is the best pasta salad I ever had. I too was skeptical about sugar being in a pasta salad but that is what makes this so unique. My family is very picky and normally won't even eat macaroni or pasta salads and they woofed it all down. Next time I will make a double batch so I can have some leftovers. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Made my own ranch dressing. Liked the crunch of the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oven Mitts
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Colourful and tasty! I have been making the same pasta salad recipe for years (the one on the mayonnaise jar), so was a little skeptical. But this one is fantastic - and it stays creamy the next day. Best of all my husband, who has always merely tolerated pasta salads, LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I make a pasta salad similar to this one, except I like to also add chopped cauliflower to it as well, and I do not use MiracleWhip, too sweet & tangy. I use real mayo (lite) and with the addition of the sugar, it is not overly sweet. I also do not add basil to mine, just a little salt and a generous sprinkle of blk. pepper. The parmesan cheese gives it a great boost! Looks beautiful & is super yummy! :-) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I was so skeptical about this dressing. The sugar with the Parmesan seemed like it couldn't be good. As I was putting it on the salad, I was scared I was going to end up wasting all those great ingredients. Wow. Was I wrong! It was phenomenal. My husband and son raved about it, and they're not ones to rave. Later in the night when they usually snack on cereal or sandwiches, they both had bowls of the leftovers from this instead. And they don't touch leftovers! It's nothing short of a miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
As is, three stars == too sweet! I'd omit the sugar and toss the broccoli in with the pasta about three minutes before done to "shock" the broccoli so it keeps its crunch and bright green color -- five stars. Also good if you substitute the green onions with diced sweet or red onions. For a full meal, I add leftover cooked chicken or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Excellent tasting salad. Had all the ingredients on hand. Goes well with grilled meats or as a main meal. This would also be good with salami or other meats added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States