Bow-Tie Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I was looking for a pasta salad that was different from the ones that are always at cookouts. This one had great reviews so I decided to give it a try. Wow! Everyone at the party loved it! I made a few changes. Used one orange pepper instead of 1/2 green and 1/2 red. I wanted to add more color. I increased the basil to 2 teaspoons. Other than that everything else was the same. The sugar was a really nice touch to add some sweetness to the miracle whip. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I brought this to a family BBQ and it was a hit. I had someone ask me for the recipe so she could bring it to a family reunion. I thought the dressing tasted a little salty by itself, but once you add it to the salad it is perfect. I will defiantly make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is pretty yummy. I used mayo and only one tbs. of sugar. I also added cubes of cheddar cheese. I love the broccoli in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tershme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The best pasta salad I have had in years! My son is a very picky eater, but tends to love pasta. He loved this as well. My kids love veggies, but not raw ones, so I did omit the celery and green pepper, but I figured because red peppers tend to be sweet that they would be fine. I added them, but minced. Also, I used frozen broccoli and added to the pasta about 3 minutes before it was done boiling. I will definitely make for every bbq and will even make for a week night meal using chopped chicken, smoked sausage, or italian sausage. The possibilities are endless. EXCELLENT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreciousNik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I bet this would be tasty with a modified dressing, 1 1/2 cups good mayonnaise 1/4 to 1/2 cup sweet white wine (to taste, instead of sugar) 3 tablespoon Dijon mustard 3 tablespoons whole-grain mustard 2 tablespoons minced fresh tarragon leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Fearing it might be too sweet for my guests, I cut back alittle on the Miracle Whip replacing with Hidden Valley Ranch dressing. I used about 3/4 of the red pepper since I love them. I also added a jar of drained marinated articoke hearts. It was a huge success at my pool party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My family LOVES this as do our friends! I made it for my son's first birthday party and it was such a hit! In fact, I didn't get to try it until I made it again the next weekend because it was gone the day of the party before I could even try it out! Since then I have been asked to make this at every get together and party- thank you SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcalvin2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Try poppy Drsg instead. This was very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Delicious basic recipe. Here's how I did it: I cooked the broccoli with the pasta (my family likes their broccoli soft- if yours doesn't, don't add broccoli until the last 5 minutes of cooking time). 2 c. Hellman's Light olive oil mayo, no onions (didn't have any) and added 1/4 tsp of onion powder & 1/4 tsp garlic salt to the mayo mix. I sauteed some chicken strips in a little olive oil, then added a splash of white wine. I then added the pasta/broccoli to the large bowl I had made the mayo mixture in, and added in the chicken. I had tasted the mayo mix before I added the pasta, & it was a little too bland. This was really good, but I felt like it was missing something, I can't put my finger on it. Still, very good and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was easy to follow and tasted great. I did add some "Salad Supreme" to it only because my other favorite pasta salad recipe has this in it. I also threw in some raw cauliflower that I needed to use up. VERY VERSATILE. This would be WONDERFUL with left over chicken or cubed dry salame. This will be on our rotating summer menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States