Bow Tie Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
As is, this recipe isn't good--there's no sauce and no flavor. To make this recipe AMAZING, double all the ingredients (other than the pasta) and add a chicken bullion cube. When adding the olive oil, add a few tablespoons of tomato paste and let the sauce come to a boil before adding the pasta. I've even added a litte heavy cream to the sauce and it's great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
With some "adjustments" this recipe was absolutly wonderful and I intend on making this again..and again...What is great about it is you could serve as is..or even add some cut up marinated chicken breasts, or some shrimp into the mix. This time I added a pound of medium sized shrimp..next time, I think I may try some chicken. I also love the fact that this can be eaten cold or hot! Now for the "adjustments" I didn't use a red onion, only because I am not too fond of them, so I used a yellow onion instead, and the whole thing, not just 1/2. I also used a whole red pepper instead of 1/2 and a few more mushrooms than that what was called for. **A note for next time though....the recommened amount of veggies and pasta ratio seemed to be a little off..A 1 lb box of bow tie pasta makes a lot. I think next time I will add 2 zucchini and 2 squash instead of 1 each, and a lot more mushrooms (we just love mushrooms), along with the whole onion and the whole red pepper..Maybe even a whole yellow pepper added to the mix would be nice. I also wonder how this would taste using a can or two of rotelle tomatoes (chopped tomatoes with green chilis) instead of the cut up roma tomatoes....Might give it a nice "bite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This pasta dish was easy to make and full of flavor! I served it to a dinner party of 6 and it was a huge hit with them! I would suggest it to anyone who wants a quick and easy pasta dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Loved the basic recipe but made a few changes for my preference and convenience. Used angel hair, dried basil instead of fresh, and cooked all the tomatoes, rather than reserving any for the top. I also increased the amount of mushrooms, and used two zucchini squashes instead of one zucchini and one yellow squash because that's what was available at my grocery store. This is one of the healthiest recipes I've ever made at this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! I loved how healthy it all was and how the flavor of the veggies really came out. I added more cheese and salt than the recipe called for because it was kind of bland the first time I tried it, but otherwise, this is really great recipe that uses low-cost veggies and didn't take that long to make. Def. try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Le

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was amazing! I left out the mushrooms and fresh basil and added fresh spinach and 2 chicken breasts. I have a feeling I'll be craving this dish every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
For those looking for more adventuresome cooking, you might want to try something different. Still, this is a simple, tried and true zucchini/pasta dish that is satisfying, nutritious and delicious. How can you go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Delicious!! I used 3 zucchinis, no summer squash, no pepper and dried basil and oregano and it was wonderful!!! I cooked my veggies in a cast iron skillet and added a sprinkling of mozzerella cheese with the Parm! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made this recipe mainly because it was a very healthy recipe. I figured it would be kind of bland but I was so wrong. I doubled the mushrooms from 1/2c. to a full cup next time I'll probably add 2c. because they tasted so good in this and there were not nearly enough. I will also add an extra zucchini. This was so wholesome and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Really quite nice. You can also cut back on the oil, just 2 tablespoons of good quality extra virgin in the end is fine. And I used dry basil too which was still fine. Really yummy! I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

How to Trim and Tie a Roast

Watch the quickest, best way to trim and tie a roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States