Bou's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I had put a chicken in the slow cooker just on its own and wanted a sauce to put over it when it was done. I made up a batch of this sauce, and it was pretty watery so I cooked it down, reduced it by half and it was WONDERFUL! I was weary of the ingredients at first but it all combined together into something exceptionally tasty. I'll definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
LOVE this recipe! However, I modify it by using chicken breasts and then cook in the slow cooker on low 6-8 hours or on high about 4 hours. Approximately 30 minutes or so before you are ready to eat, pull the chicken breasts out, shred them and return to the slow cooker for the remaining cook time. Serve on a bun. Makes a fabulous pulled chicken sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was good. I only cook with chicken breats- so that's what I used. It was nice. Honestly- it just tasted like BBQ covered chicken though..which isn't a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottmoorela
Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Delicious!! I used brown sugar instead of white. I added cornstarch & water mixture toward the end to make it thicker - it is a pretty thin sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients as I had more chicken than the recipe called for. There was alot of sauce left over & chicken for a 2nd meal. I then used the extra sauce with pasta & mixed in frozen chopped spinach to serve with the chicken again. Wonderful both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I did not care for this and neither did the kids (teenagers who would eat cold hamburgers). My husband thought it was fabulous. If we make it again, he'll be eating it alone. I'll take the kids for pizza. While the chicken was very tender I just thought the taste was awful. Ketchup and mustard chicken in grease water. It just didn't sit well in the tummy. I recommend skinless chicken; otherwise you get a nasty fatty mess when you refrigerate leftovers. I think it would have tasted MUCH better without the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! I was kinda nervous at first seeing the odd combination of ingredients, but man it turned out wonderful! My husband wants me to cook the sauce for all kinds of other stuff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
loved it, will make again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Wow, we like Bou's chicken! I used bone-in chicken breasts. I let them simmer a little longer than recipe called for and they were a tad dry. I can only imagine the greatness of this recipe if I pay attention next time! I took the skins off the chicken and trimmed all the fat off before simmering. I used brown sugar in place of white, I thought it would go with these flavors better. I think I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was yummy. I did change the recipe a bit: instead of 1 c. Ketchup I use half a can of tomatoe past adn 1/4c. ketchup and i added part brown sugar and part white sugar just to see how it woudl taste. My husbadn said that it was a little too sweet, but i thought thtat it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
The sauce is awesome the only change I made was to use splenda in place of the sugar. Its great with pork also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States