Bou's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wow! Just tried this recipe my family loved it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denie Lester

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
There wasn't an instruction to cut the whole chicken into pieces, but obviously one must or the chicken will not all contact the sauce in the pot. The only thing I changed was cider vinegar instead of white. I left the rest as is. We decided it was fairly tasty, but could use a little something. Not exactly sure what. Maybe onions and garlic, maybe other veggies, maybe less sugar. I served it with a saute of various vegetables, and the kids ate it up. My daughter particularly enjoyed the sauce. My husband liked that the meat was loosening from the bones. I used a rather larger bird than called for, and the breast ended up slightly dry without the sauce. But with the sauce it was fine. We decided to keep the recipe and try to find out what's missing (for us).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this tonight and it was terrific! Slight modifications based on others' reviews..... I used drumsticks and thighs and took all the skin/fat off. I used Demerara sugar instead of white, added ginger and a diced onion to the sauce. The chicken fell off the bones and the sauce was just right. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sturgeon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
great recipe I used chicken tenders and the family lapped it up! Will be a staple from now on thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very good! We both liked this a lot! We did make a few revisions. Instead of simmering the chicken on the stove top or in a crockpot we used it as a marinade and basting sauce for grilled boneless, skinless, chicken breasts. Brown sugar instead of white. One cup water seemed entirely too much! We cut that back to 1/4 cup. Also added was one tablespoon of finely minced onion, and a heaping 1/4 teaspoon each of mustard powder and freshly ground pepper. Marinated the chicken for about an hour before grilling and basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I used honey instead of white sugar and cooked the chicken and sauce in the slow cooker (didn't boil the sauce beforehand, since it boils in the slow cooker). The sauce was thin, and it was a little bit too tangy for out taste. We liked it well enough, but I most likely wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! I make this all the time and my family loves it. It is eaten up very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used 3 chicken breasts and added garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Chaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was AWESOME!!! I even shared it with my neighbor. I thought it was going to be sweet but it wasn't. Next time I'm adding an onion and some garlic. (It's the Italian in me - gotta have garlic). I use boneless breast cut into pieces and it turned out fabulous. Why fuss with bones? I also served it over brown rice and poured the extra sauce over it all. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It was good. I think that the ketchup made it a little too strong. I think next time I will try less ketchup and maybe add some curry powder to it. My family did eat it and they liked it but said not to add to much sauce to the rice cause it's a little to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korinnanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States