Bou's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
There wasn't an instruction to cut the whole chicken into pieces, but obviously one must or the chicken will not all contact the sauce in the pot. The only thing I changed was cider vinegar instead of white. I left the rest as is. We decided it was fairly tasty, but could use a little something. Not exactly sure what. Maybe onions and garlic, maybe other veggies, maybe less sugar. I served it with a saute of various vegetables, and the kids ate it up. My daughter particularly enjoyed the sauce. My husband liked that the meat was loosening from the bones. I used a rather larger bird than called for, and the breast ended up slightly dry without the sauce. But with the sauce it was fine. We decided to keep the recipe and try to find out what's missing (for us).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made this tonight and it was terrific! Slight modifications based on others' reviews..... I used drumsticks and thighs and took all the skin/fat off. I used Demerara sugar instead of white, added ginger and a diced onion to the sauce. The chicken fell off the bones and the sauce was just right. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sturgeon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
great recipe I used chicken tenders and the family lapped it up! Will be a staple from now on thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very good! We both liked this a lot! We did make a few revisions. Instead of simmering the chicken on the stove top or in a crockpot we used it as a marinade and basting sauce for grilled boneless, skinless, chicken breasts. Brown sugar instead of white. One cup water seemed entirely too much! We cut that back to 1/4 cup. Also added was one tablespoon of finely minced onion, and a heaping 1/4 teaspoon each of mustard powder and freshly ground pepper. Marinated the chicken for about an hour before grilling and basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I used honey instead of white sugar and cooked the chicken and sauce in the slow cooker (didn't boil the sauce beforehand, since it boils in the slow cooker). The sauce was thin, and it was a little bit too tangy for out taste. We liked it well enough, but I most likely wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! I make this all the time and my family loves it. It is eaten up very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used 3 chicken breasts and added garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Chaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was AWESOME!!! I even shared it with my neighbor. I thought it was going to be sweet but it wasn't. Next time I'm adding an onion and some garlic. (It's the Italian in me - gotta have garlic). I use boneless breast cut into pieces and it turned out fabulous. Why fuss with bones? I also served it over brown rice and poured the extra sauce over it all. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It was good. I think that the ketchup made it a little too strong. I think next time I will try less ketchup and maybe add some curry powder to it. My family did eat it and they liked it but said not to add to much sauce to the rice cause it's a little to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korinnanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this recipe this weekend when I learned I'd be having unexpected overnight guests. The night before I cut up a whole chicken and put it in a simple brine (water, apple cider, a little brown sugar and cracked peppercorns). I made the sauce in advanced and planned on grilling the chicken. It rained, so after draining the brine off the chicken, I let the chicken marinate in this sauce for about 1 hour. I set aside about 1 cup of the sauce. I baked the chicken at 350 for about 1 hour and at the very end, brushed the remaining sauce on the chicken. My GUESTS LOVED IT! And I couldn't believe it, a couple of my neighbors could smell it baking and they knocked on my door to tell me how good it smelled (I live in the suburbs). This is great, great, GREAT! Only thing different I did was to add a few pieces of pineapple (smashed) to the sauce as I found them in the bottom of a leftover bowl of fruit! I'm sure it wasn't necessary - but I did it. Thank you CCLady for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States