Bou's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This recipe is a keeper, my picky husband enjoyed. I did use previous suggestions, cut vinegar down to 2 tbsp, used brown sugar instead of white. I used boneless chicken breast and simmered 30 minutes, adding 1 tbsp cornstarch/water last 10 minutes of cooking to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Fabulous! This is my new favorite chicken recipe! The sauce is delicious -- I served it with rice. Even my picky 15-year-old son loved it. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and water at the end to give it a more gravy-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very ketch-upy. Didn't like it so much, but hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Who would have thought that mixing those ingredients would taste like that! It's a very versatile sauce that can be altered to taste any way you like. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was quite possibly the best chicken stew dish that I have ever made. The wife and I ate all 3 pounds of the cut up chicken (more on my end). I followed the recipe except I sauteed down some fresh garlic and did not put nearly as much sugar as I do not care for sweet dishes. Served over hungarian dumplings. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This chicken is tender and covered in a sweet, thick sauce. It is like barbecued chicken made anytime on the stove. Honey can be substituted for sugar as it is a healthier option and nicely compliments the recipe's other ingredients. Be careful to keep your eye on the sauce so that it doesn't burn because the sugars tend to caramelize. Served with corn, salad, and rice, potatoes, or biscuits, it's a dish that adults and kids alike will thoroughly enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creme Brulee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
My husband and I both love this recipe. It's extremely easy and tastes great. I make this with rice and vegetables for an easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I liked the recipe for once in a while; however, I will definitely cut down on the amount of sugar called for... eventhough I had used less sugar than called for. It was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The chicken came out well but I didn't like the sauce over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States