Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Here are some recommendations for this recipe.... I personally think that fresh, roasted vegetables taste far better. You can roast veggies in an oven on lower heat with olive oil, but I prefer to do my roasting on my charcoal grill. I also add ONE of the following combinations: ONE ghost chili pepper (dried, reconstituted, roasted, and seeded), 2 habaneros (roasted and seeded), or 4 jalapenos (roasted and seeded). Use A1 instead of the Worcestershire sauce. I also used Himalayan pink salt and added smoked (yes smoked) paprika. I have tried it with both light and dark brown sugar. A tiny bit of molasses can't hurt either ( I have used up to a 1/4 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Freaking love this sauce!!! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt Whifflebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I killed my first batch of this sauce :( I followed the recipe to the letter after all the reviews said to do that. I live in Australia where liquid smoke is scarce (I had not heard of it until this recipe), I found a company called misty gully here in oz. Not sure if their smoke is more concentrated than the yankee stuff? But mine was bitter and waaaaay to smokey with 2 tablespoons of the stuff in, I had another go, this time with 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke and the sauce was great. With 2 tablespoons there was no way you were going to taste the bourbon, just smoke :(. In the end the only changes I made were 1 cup of bourbon :) and 1 teaspoon of LS instead of 2 tablspoons. For all those aussies trying this sauce, misty gully also make an "outback campfire" LS which gives the sauce a great caramel colour with a great smoke flavour, once again only 1 teaspoon, the outback campfire really takes it to the next level. The sauce packs a good load of flavour and makes me look like a pro! PS. If you don't believe me about the liquid smoke, at least try it with 1 teaspoon and give it a taste before you go adding 2 tablespoons blindly :) PSS. I signed up to this website just to write this review, sauce is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made exact recipe, and put into a jar for a few days. I am so disappointed. Was my bottle of liquid smoke too old? Should this only be used to brush on BBQ to be broiled or grilled and not as a 'sauce' on shredded meat? I won't waste my whiskey on this a second time. Perhaps it is my personal taste; I don't care for bottled sauce because most are so sweet, and this reminded me of something straight off the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've made this several times and always double the recipe to have extra on hand. Primarily, I use this for pulled pork. Using cheap bourbon (It will taste the same and it's a waste of good bourbon & funds to use good bourbon.) I followed the directions exactly. I have, the last couple to times added a bit of chili powder and chipotle powder to add a little bite. It is BETTER the next day and if you don't care for vinegar (I love it.) you may need to cook down the sauce more. Regardless, everyone I have cooked this for experienced love-at-first-bite & it's now my go-to recipe for great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good basic sauce but definitely needs some seasonings. I used half ketchup and half tomato sauce for the 2 cups, I omitted the salt and halved the brown sugar. I added a bay leaf, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, red chili pepper flakes and homemade salt free Emeril's Essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe, spicy without being overbearing. I didn't adjust anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This sauce is amazing. I've made it twice now and followed the recipe exactly. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and am unimpressed. We think it had too much cider vinegar. I recall one reviewer mentioned that she cut down on that amount but it slipped my mind. I will try it once more with much less vinegar and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This stuff is awesome! I do put it in the processor after cooking to puree the onions and garlic, half the liquid smoke, otherwise didn't change a thing. Only one hint....MAKE EXTRA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States