Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved it! Instead of hot pepper sauce, I added Dijon mustard (or, as autocorrect would insist: Simon mustard), and it was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Sooo delicious. I made a big batch and canned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsyh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this to go on ribs I prepared that same night, and I didn't like it. I thought it was a problem with the sauce. But I saved the rest of it anyway and used it later on pulled pork, and again on a roast chicken. Both were phenomenal. I think letting it age was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Excellent. Have never tried to make BBQ sauce before. This was superb. I made large batch (multiplied everything x4 EXCEPT vinegar and liq smoke x3 only). One daughter suggested I add more liquid smoke but I was happy with the flavor. I canned (4) 1 Qt jars and that was exactly how much it made. Will make this again as well as make it for Christmas as gifts. I used Southern Comfort (I don't drink much so didn't know what different brands would do to flavor---went cheap). May try Jack Daniels next time to see if there is a difference in flavor. I left onions (but I almost minced them) and garlic in the sauce without straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have tried it with Whiskey and it rocks. I am now in the middle of using Apple Pie Moonshine that I had made up. Oh my its one tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Loved it and so did all the others at our lake trip. I'm going to make more and can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the second time I've made this (first time as written minus the salt), this time with a couple of changes, and it's still fabulous as the first time, thus my 5 star rating for the recipe itself. I cut the sugar in half (unpacked) and had to use red wine instead of whiskey as I didn't have any this time. I never add any additional salt, and didn't have any tomato paste. It still thickened up nicely, and I'm not going to strain it as it tastes wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellbell526
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I omitted tomato paste but added a little extra ketchup(to finish off a bottle) and I used red wine vinegar instead of the cider. By far the best BBQ sauce I've ever had. It's so simple I'll never buy to from a store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
WOW! This sauce is amazing! I've never written a recipe review before but this was so good that I simply had to. The sauce isn't too tangy, not too sweet and doesn't have too much of a smoky flavored. I like it so much that I double the recipe and process it in Mason jars so I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Pro-tip...strain the minced onions but save them to use as a burger topping. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States