Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the second time I've made this (first time as written minus the salt), this time with a couple of changes, and it's still fabulous as the first time, thus my 5 star rating for the recipe itself. I cut the sugar in half (unpacked) and had to use red wine instead of whiskey as I didn't have any this time. I never add any additional salt, and didn't have any tomato paste. It still thickened up nicely, and I'm not going to strain it as it tastes wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellbell526
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I omitted tomato paste but added a little extra ketchup(to finish off a bottle) and I used red wine vinegar instead of the cider. By far the best BBQ sauce I've ever had. It's so simple I'll never buy to from a store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
WOW! This sauce is amazing! I've never written a recipe review before but this was so good that I simply had to. The sauce isn't too tangy, not too sweet and doesn't have too much of a smoky flavored. I like it so much that I double the recipe and process it in Mason jars so I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Pro-tip...strain the minced onions but save them to use as a burger topping. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this now twice. After putting into jars I add 1/2 of whiskey to the top of the sauce its off to the hot water bath. Store in cool area for about 2 weeks. My family can't get enough of this. We also find using a honey whiskey to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dysfunctionaldave
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Followed for the most part. 1/4 bourban,1/4 cup maple whiskey. (adds a great maple flavour). 2 tablespoons of honey. No tomato paste so used chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was really good. I found that after preparing it carefully as written the flavor lacked just a little depth so I added 1tsp of beef concentrate (or 1 beef cube) and 1Tbls of soy sauce. I like a smooth sauce so I blended it with an immersion blender for about a minute after cooling. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The best BBQ sauce I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I skipped the whiskey and Worcestershire sauce ) I also substituted ketchup for tomato paste and added extra sugar and apple cider vinegar and some ground dry mustard(due to food allergies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is truly a fantastic Recipe!!!! I have to make it at least once a week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States