Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Awesome! I was a KC die hard until now! Thank you......I made this and then threw a rack of ribs in the crockpot poured this in just to cover the ribs and set it for 12 hours and to die for.... Ribs fell off the bone and I couldn't get enough of the BBQ sauce.... I have a new finger lickin friend....this bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garzmax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
This recipe is simple And excellent!!! I'll never by bottled bbq sauce again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I have made this so many times, now when I invite people over, they ask "are you going to have that BBQ sauce", the only alteration I made is I use Evan Williams in place of Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This sauce is so good will never buy store BBQ sauce again can't wait to used on my ribs for the Whiskey I used Seagrams7 I just taste the sauce delish can't wait to use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerda Otteson4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I have 2 family members that don't like onion or garlic, so, I've said nothing and just run the sauce thru the blender. They eat it like nothing else and call it great. I'll never tell them they are eating onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Amazing sauce! I was afraid it would turn out poorly because I didn't have liquid smoke and I accidentally doubled the tomato paste. But it's still a winner!! I chose not to strain because I love onions and garlic, and I've never had slightly chunky bbq sauce before...it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Awesome! My son, myself, and others thought this was amazing. This is a fantastic BBQ sauce. The reviewer who said that the flavors compete does not know what he/she is talking about. The flavors meld into a wonderful and delightful BBQ treat. I have to admit I was skeptical about the amount of bourbon and salt, but I did as instructed and am so glad I did. Diyeana said you could use any Bourbon - it's true. I got the cheapest Kentucky bourbon (Old Crow Sour Mash Kentucky Bourbon) the second time I made this, and it made no difference. As recommended by the author, Kevin, let it sit overnight in the fridge for the flavors to blend (as with many recipes). This is the best sauce I have made or had, and I have been making homemade BBQ sauce for years. No kidding. I intend to use this recipe for shredded pork BBQ next time after cooking the pork in a slow cooker with spices for 8 hours first :). I have used this recipe a few times exactly as written with total success. It even beats my grandma's handed-down recipe (and I loved my grandma's cooking!). Brush it on chicken, pork, or use it as the sauce for pit beef, chicken, or pork BBQ sandwiches. You (and your guests) won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I absolutely LOVE this sauce!! I've made it many, many times and I usually double the recipe when I do. What I've learned is that, after simmering it (which I usually do for about an hour), is that pouring it into a blender, in batches, takes care of the chunky issue some reviewers don't care for. Another handy tip: save your old ketchup squeeze bottle to store it in! It's wonderful as written, but I have changed it slightly over the years by omitting salt & adding ground spices (such as ground mustard seed, paprika & chile powder) and I don't add the liquid smoke until I'm done simmering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I absolutely loved the recipe. Leaving it in the fridge for a day or so did the trick as it really did taste better than when I made it. Only change I made out of necessity was the chili powder. Instead of chili powder, I used new mexico chili powder and BAM! it was really delicious. It was my first time ever making a bbq sauce. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elf
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Thank you so much for a fab recipe...the only thing I changed was to reduce the sugar by half. I love the recipes on this site, always so inventive. Being a Brit I find we don't have such a sweet tooth as in Americans. it is so nice to have authentic American food recipes this side of the pond! The sauce is amazing on sausages and chicken as well as ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

This homemade BBQ sauce is a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, and a whole lo

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States