Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Excellent. Have never tried to make BBQ sauce before. This was superb. I made large batch (multiplied everything x4 EXCEPT vinegar and liq smoke x3 only). One daughter suggested I add more liquid smoke but I was happy with the flavor. I canned (4) 1 Qt jars and that was exactly how much it made. Will make this again as well as make it for Christmas as gifts. I used Southern Comfort (I don't drink much so didn't know what different brands would do to flavor---went cheap). May try Jack Daniels next time to see if there is a difference in flavor. I left onions (but I almost minced them) and garlic in the sauce without straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have tried it with Whiskey and it rocks. I am now in the middle of using Apple Pie Moonshine that I had made up. Oh my its one tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Loved it and so did all the others at our lake trip. I'm going to make more and can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the second time I've made this (first time as written minus the salt), this time with a couple of changes, and it's still fabulous as the first time, thus my 5 star rating for the recipe itself. I cut the sugar in half (unpacked) and had to use red wine instead of whiskey as I didn't have any this time. I never add any additional salt, and didn't have any tomato paste. It still thickened up nicely, and I'm not going to strain it as it tastes wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellbell526
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I omitted tomato paste but added a little extra ketchup(to finish off a bottle) and I used red wine vinegar instead of the cider. By far the best BBQ sauce I've ever had. It's so simple I'll never buy to from a store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
WOW! This sauce is amazing! I've never written a recipe review before but this was so good that I simply had to. The sauce isn't too tangy, not too sweet and doesn't have too much of a smoky flavored. I like it so much that I double the recipe and process it in Mason jars so I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Pro-tip...strain the minced onions but save them to use as a burger topping. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this now twice. After putting into jars I add 1/2 of whiskey to the top of the sauce its off to the hot water bath. Store in cool area for about 2 weeks. My family can't get enough of this. We also find using a honey whiskey to be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dysfunctionaldave
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Followed for the most part. 1/4 bourban,1/4 cup maple whiskey. (adds a great maple flavour). 2 tablespoons of honey. No tomato paste so used chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was really good. I found that after preparing it carefully as written the flavor lacked just a little depth so I added 1tsp of beef concentrate (or 1 beef cube) and 1Tbls of soy sauce. I like a smooth sauce so I blended it with an immersion blender for about a minute after cooling. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States