Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Wonderful recipe!! I made a few changes. Used 1 c of ketchup and one 8 oz can tomato sauce. I used apple cider vinegar and it was a little strong for my taste so will reduce to 1/4 c or even less next time. Added a tbsp or two of molasses and a bit more brown sugar to balance the acidity. Tip- grate the onion instead of dicing for a softer consistency (I use this technique for homemade spaghetti sauce too). Will definitely use again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The absolute best barbecue sauce ever!!!! The flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is wonderful BBQ sauce! It is important to let it sit overnight as it is better after the flavors all blend. I very finely minced my onions, and left them in the sauce and will continue to do it that way, no need to remove them. My family RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOLGIRL_31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this sauce last year for a big family and friends bbq. I smoked a brisket with Jack Daniels whiskey barrel wood chips and provided this sauce as a condiment. Everyone loved the sauce. It complimented the smoked brisket perfectly. I'm starting another batch now. I think I'll crank it up a bit this time with just a touch more whiskey (the cheapest they make) and a bit more hot sauce (Cholula) and ground pepper. I will keep it sweet and perhaps add a teaspoon of black strap molasses for depth. I plan to back off the tomato paste by half to allow the other flavors to step up. The original recipe is a little heavy on tomato flavor as original but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for BBQ sauce. I have tried using different Liquors, such as Jack Daniels, and something that said Whiskey on the bottle at my Grandfather's house. Jack Daniels was my families least favorite. Random whiskey at Grandfather's house was most favorite. Now if only I knew what I had used. Thanks for sharing recipe! I take great pride in making BBQ sauce now that I can make it myself now. Never store bought sauce in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabisme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
this is so good. we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've used this recipe for ribs several times without modification and it has been just absolutely delicious. My family loved it - the only thing I did wrong was not make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bria Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this recipe for part of a grilling basket we made for our fathers for Christmas. Now everyone is asking for it. Our 6 year old son said this bbq sauce made his mouth dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I can only partially taste at this time.... Sinus infection. 4 friends have raved over this. I served it over pulled pork. So far all love it..even over their favorite sauces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States