Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We loved this recipe! Contrary to some other reviews it was not too sweet and the bourbon was definitely not overpowering. In fact, the bourbon was hardly noticable. I cut the onion and garlic into large chunks to make it easier to remove. I used half the amount of tomato paste because it's all I had. Just make sure you don't rush and make sure you give it enough time to simmer and you will be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Definitely let it sit for a day before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
The sauce is very good. I cooked the ribs indoors a few different ways and found the best method was to follow the directions for Scott Hibb's baby back ribs (except broiling rather than grilling them at the end), putting this sauce on at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Like the Old Milwaukie commercial used to say, "it doesn't get any better then this".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I just tried this recipe at a Labour Day bbq and everyone loved it. This will be in my vault to use in future bbqs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Recipe tastes great. Smoked some ribs and used this sauce to finish them. Turned out awesome despite no Liquid smoke. I substituted it with smoke paprika which helped give some smokey flavor but I am sure it's better with the liquid smoke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Our family loved this BBQ Sauce, my son-in-law asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is awesome! Others have said they use the cheapest whiskey which is accurate, however I like to use the honey flavored whiskey... Such as Jack Daniels Honey. I like to put the sauce in a blender after is has cooled and get the onions and garlic blended in.... It really gives a fuller richer flavor! Love this, great on chicken ribs or pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Hance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is the best BBQ sauce I have ever attempted in my kitchen and trust me I am Italian there is alot going on in my kitchen everyday.I also made a small change in the bourbon I used honey infused wiskey!!! totally gives it a nice sweet to go along with the kick from the hot. Thanks for sharing this with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It is good, but not great. With theses additions, I would give it 5 stars: 1TBSP soy sauce, 1/2 tsp ginger, and 1 tsp dry mustard, and an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. Also, I could only stand it with half the smoke flavor added. I couldn't even imagine this with all the smoke flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States