Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made exact recipe, and put into a jar for a few days. I am so disappointed. Was my bottle of liquid smoke too old? Should this only be used to brush on BBQ to be broiled or grilled and not as a 'sauce' on shredded meat? I won't waste my whiskey on this a second time. Perhaps it is my personal taste; I don't care for bottled sauce because most are so sweet, and this reminded me of something straight off the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've made this several times and always double the recipe to have extra on hand. Primarily, I use this for pulled pork. Using cheap bourbon (It will taste the same and it's a waste of good bourbon & funds to use good bourbon.) I followed the directions exactly. I have, the last couple to times added a bit of chili powder and chipotle powder to add a little bite. It is BETTER the next day and if you don't care for vinegar (I love it.) you may need to cook down the sauce more. Regardless, everyone I have cooked this for experienced love-at-first-bite & it's now my go-to recipe for great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good basic sauce but definitely needs some seasonings. I used half ketchup and half tomato sauce for the 2 cups, I omitted the salt and halved the brown sugar. I added a bay leaf, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, red chili pepper flakes and homemade salt free Emeril's Essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe, spicy without being overbearing. I didn't adjust anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This sauce is amazing. I've made it twice now and followed the recipe exactly. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and am unimpressed. We think it had too much cider vinegar. I recall one reviewer mentioned that she cut down on that amount but it slipped my mind. I will try it once more with much less vinegar and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This stuff is awesome! I do put it in the processor after cooking to puree the onions and garlic, half the liquid smoke, otherwise didn't change a thing. Only one hint....MAKE EXTRA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I really love this recipe. It is easy to make - all-in around 45 minutes and most of that time I was spent watching TV :-). It obviously is heavily biased towards the Tomato taste, but delicious none-the-less. I sieved it to get a smooth finish but this took a wee while. I don't use this for Marinades etc for the BBQ, but more of a great condiment to replace the you get in the supermarket. It goes great with virtually I eat. Steak and Chips yummy. I had to adapt it slightly to the New Zealand items which are available. For the Kiwis reading : the Tomato Ketchup was tins of Watties, liquid smoke I used was 100% Natural Manuka Smoke Concentrate - about 4 sprays but will probably play with the amount when I make it next, Tomato paste was a tubed concentrate bought from the supermarket. The Bourbon was just a really cheap version from Liquor King as it was quite expensive to buy the quality stuff. Other reviews pointed out that it didn't really matter, so I figured try the cheapest first and head North if things turn out good. Which they did, so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Made exactly as stated... Unbelivably good. Used it for pulled pork and my family all raved about how good it was. Not an easy task to make something that all 4 are happy with. This is a keeper:) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love this sauce and have made it many times. If I'm in a hurry I use 1/2 Tbs powdered garlic and 1 Tbs powered onion instead of the fresh. Then all you have to do is throw everying in the pot, no chopping or straining. If you like less tomato flavor omit the tomato paste. This is a great sauce even when you "cheat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States