Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I killed my first batch of this sauce :( I followed the recipe to the letter after all the reviews said to do that. I live in Australia where liquid smoke is scarce (I had not heard of it until this recipe), I found a company called misty gully here in oz. Not sure if their smoke is more concentrated than the yankee stuff? But mine was bitter and waaaaay to smokey with 2 tablespoons of the stuff in, I had another go, this time with 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke and the sauce was great. With 2 tablespoons there was no way you were going to taste the bourbon, just smoke :(. In the end the only changes I made were 1 cup of bourbon :) and 1 teaspoon of LS instead of 2 tablspoons. For all those aussies trying this sauce, misty gully also make an "outback campfire" LS which gives the sauce a great caramel colour with a great smoke flavour, once again only 1 teaspoon, the outback campfire really takes it to the next level. The sauce packs a good load of flavour and makes me look like a pro! PS. If you don't believe me about the liquid smoke, at least try it with 1 teaspoon and give it a taste before you go adding 2 tablespoons blindly :) PSS. I signed up to this website just to write this review, sauce is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made exact recipe, and put into a jar for a few days. I am so disappointed. Was my bottle of liquid smoke too old? Should this only be used to brush on BBQ to be broiled or grilled and not as a 'sauce' on shredded meat? I won't waste my whiskey on this a second time. Perhaps it is my personal taste; I don't care for bottled sauce because most are so sweet, and this reminded me of something straight off the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've made this several times and always double the recipe to have extra on hand. Primarily, I use this for pulled pork. Using cheap bourbon (It will taste the same and it's a waste of good bourbon & funds to use good bourbon.) I followed the directions exactly. I have, the last couple to times added a bit of chili powder and chipotle powder to add a little bite. It is BETTER the next day and if you don't care for vinegar (I love it.) you may need to cook down the sauce more. Regardless, everyone I have cooked this for experienced love-at-first-bite & it's now my go-to recipe for great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good basic sauce but definitely needs some seasonings. I used half ketchup and half tomato sauce for the 2 cups, I omitted the salt and halved the brown sugar. I added a bay leaf, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, red chili pepper flakes and homemade salt free Emeril's Essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe, spicy without being overbearing. I didn't adjust anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This sauce is amazing. I've made it twice now and followed the recipe exactly. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and am unimpressed. We think it had too much cider vinegar. I recall one reviewer mentioned that she cut down on that amount but it slipped my mind. I will try it once more with much less vinegar and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This stuff is awesome! I do put it in the processor after cooking to puree the onions and garlic, half the liquid smoke, otherwise didn't change a thing. Only one hint....MAKE EXTRA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I really love this recipe. It is easy to make - all-in around 45 minutes and most of that time I was spent watching TV :-). It obviously is heavily biased towards the Tomato taste, but delicious none-the-less. I sieved it to get a smooth finish but this took a wee while. I don't use this for Marinades etc for the BBQ, but more of a great condiment to replace the you get in the supermarket. It goes great with virtually I eat. Steak and Chips yummy. I had to adapt it slightly to the New Zealand items which are available. For the Kiwis reading : the Tomato Ketchup was tins of Watties, liquid smoke I used was 100% Natural Manuka Smoke Concentrate - about 4 sprays but will probably play with the amount when I make it next, Tomato paste was a tubed concentrate bought from the supermarket. The Bourbon was just a really cheap version from Liquor King as it was quite expensive to buy the quality stuff. Other reviews pointed out that it didn't really matter, so I figured try the cheapest first and head North if things turn out good. Which they did, so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Made exactly as stated... Unbelivably good. Used it for pulled pork and my family all raved about how good it was. Not an easy task to make something that all 4 are happy with. This is a keeper:) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States