Bourbon Street Rib-Eye Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I love bourbon steaks that this marinade made for very tasty ones. Only thing I would change is that I would like a little sweeter flavor and will add more brown sugar next time and maybe make extra marinade so that I can baste the steaks while they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
It was a flavorful marinade and if you enjoy bourbon whiskey you will love the flavors. I would use more sugar next time as I like mine more on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffster67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made the recipe as stated. It came out well. I think this might be better for a colder time of year because the marinade seemed heavy for the summer. I think it had a good balance of sweetness and flavor from the other ingredients. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My family loves steak so I thought this would be something different... I wish I could have my 20 bucks back that I spent on the rib eyes because myself nor my husband or sons could eat it.. I have used bourbon in other recipes.... but this just wasn't good... we ate cheerios for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
VERY good marinade, for any of your steaks. Hint: take the steaks out of the frig to come to room temp (about 30 minutes) before you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly even had Rib-Eye Steaks on hand. I marinated for just 8 hours and there was not as much flavored as I hoped there would be. They smelled wonderful on the grill, but only a few bites of my steak were full of flavor. I think I will make this again, but next time definatly try a 24 hour marinate; I might also try it will chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLMcKay3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made this for *Recipe Group*. I thought the bourbon came through too strong on this for me, not overpowering, just more than I like. It needs something, maybe some garlic. I normally don't marinate or rub ribeyes as I like the flavor of the meat to come through. If you like the bourbon flavor, you will love this. Thanks Nokomo for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Exchange group recipe for the week of April 26th. We liked this a lot. However the marinade didn't penetrate very deeply into my steak. (I used flat iron, because it's my favorite, generally.) I think next time I would add another tablespoon each of lemon juice AND brown sugar (lemon juice to add more tenderizing power, and sugar to offset the lemon flavor.) I did add black pepper quite liberally to the marinade as we love it. Thanks for the recipe! (I served this with AR's "Honey Roasted Red Potatoes" and a salad. The slightly sweet steak and the sweet oniony potatoes went very well together!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Excellent marinade! I used strip steaks and added Jim Beam to the marinade. These steaks were delicious and flavorful. I did add a tablespoon of minced garlic, thanks Sassy, and did cut the recipe by 1/2 since we were just marinating 2 steaks. This is definitely enough marinade for six large steaks. Thanks for a great recipe, Nokomo, enjoyed trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
We enjoyed this. All I had was Southern Comfort and it turned out great. I also only had 5 hours and we could still taste it in every bite. I am giving this a 5 because if it were to sit 8 hours as directed, it would have melted in our mouths. I cannot wait to try this again when I have the time to let it sit properly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States