Bourbon Spiced Pork with Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Delicious. The McCormick spice packet is a great weeknight shortcut, but this is truly a company-worthy meal. Next time, I will probably use more apples, as we loved that aspect of the meal. Butternut squash would be good in place of the sweet potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is excellent and so easy. I used boneless pork chops this time and turned out great. Make sure you cut the sweet potatoes small like the recipe says so they are done when the meat is done. 1" cubes is perfect. I quarter an apple and that seems to work well also (I used an apple slicer the first time and they were smaller slices and they were a tiny mushy). This is so delicious!! You can find the spice mix with all the other packet seasonings in most stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I was a bit dismayed when I saw the price for the McCormick's Seasoning packet was $2.00 but I bought it anyway and I'm glad I did. The seasoning and brown sugar creates a "rub" that goes over the pork. Then o.j. is added to the remaining season to create a "sauce" for the potatos and apples. The seasoning's is a bit spicy but is offset by the mellowness of the potatos and sweetness of the apple. P TIP: the directions are a bit confusing. Mix all the seasoning with brown sugar. Then take about 1/4 C and rub on pork. The remaining 3/4 C seasoning/brown sugar is mixed with the O.J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Hanna
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very easy, very good. Two comments: (1) "12 servings" doesn't mean that it serves 12. I added an extra apple and an extra sweet potato and it was still a little light for eight people. As a one-pan dinner, I would recommend you plan on this recipe serving six people. (2) Folks at altitude remember it will take a little longer to cook (I'm in Denver and it took nearly an hour instead of the 35 min suggested in the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was super easy and very tasty! I lowered the servings to 6 but followed the recipe to a T. Not too spicy and just the right amount of sweetness from the apples. I love sweet potates and roasting them is a great way to enjoy them. I would highly recommed this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is wonderful! I made it before and it was so good. Today I added butternut squash and onions to the roasting vegetables. I used half a pork loin rather than tenderloin cuz it was on sale, so I just left the veggies chunkier to allow for the extra cooking time. And as someone else suggested, the cornflour slurry at the end makes a wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by carlenemarie1
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Amazing dish! I took a risk when deciding to make and i'm sure glad I did. Makes me feel like a world class chef. Thanks for the life long recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlenemarie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe. I thought I would be because I love the ingredients. First off, I thought the mix gave the pork an odd, metallic taste, although it tasted great on the sweet potatoes and apple. It was also sort of salty which is saying a lot because we like salt! It was a huge disappointment to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is such an easy recipe and it is wonderful. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was a great meal, very simple and easy to put together. The flavors are wonderful and compliment each other! My husband LOVED this and couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindie1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States