Bourbon Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My Dad makes this every year for Thanksgiving. Here is his recipe that has been tested to the MAX.: 12oz can OJ (not diluted) 12oz can Lemonade (not diluted) 1 cup sugar 2 1/2 cups Bourbon (we use a well) 2 cups tea (4 teabags + 2 ups boiling water) Mix together & freeze in rectangle shaped tupperware for at least 24 hrs. Scoop out into glasses & top with Champagne (my fav.) or Gingerale/Sprite/7-up/Clubsoda/Tonic We triple this recipe and never have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I keep a frozen container of this in my freezer at ALL times. Only I don't like Bourbon so I use Bacardi. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was good but I did have to modify it a bit as it was more to the syrupy sweet side than I like. I left out a just a little of the juices and a bit less sugar and added more of the tea and bourbon. With this it tasted great just as it was and didn't even need to be made into a slushy (only needed ice). I did try it as a slushy with the 7-Up and it was refreshing on the hot day we had. For a company gathering though I may just make it in a punch bowl with an ice ring and I think it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This went over VERY well with some guests of mine the other night. You may think I'm nuts (or an alcoholic), but a pinch more liquor wouldn't have hurt this much. I'm not saying much...just a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Wow is this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Excellant!!! This is great because it makes quite a few drinks but even if you're only serving a couple of people, you can keep it in the freezer until you're ready for more! You don't waste a whole bowl of "punch" for just a few people. It's got a great flavor! I will make this again...even if it's just for me!! (and store the rest in the freezer until I'm ready for more!) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I can't wait to make this. I have been searching my grandmothers recipes for 5 years trying to find her recipe for slush. She never used pineapple juice because she was allergic so i'll make the appropriate changes. Thank you SO much for posting this....it brings back so many memories. I'm gonna make some this weekend! Side note-you can also use vernors or any ginger ale instead of 7 up or sprite. Also, this makes a bowl full and will keep half forever in the freeer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I doubled the orange juice and left out the pineapple. Great summer and holiday drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
So good and refreshing! I did cut down on the sugar and used a touch more bourbon b/c I wanted to finish off the bottle. I will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Tip: To keep on hand for later use, store in the freezer in quart size freezer bags. Push out the air & seal (test the seal!) and lay flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States