Bourbon Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this last night. Loved the flavour, but made a few changes based on other reviews. Less sugar, more cocktail sauce, and I ended up using more Southern Comfort than it called for because I made this early in the day, so kept adding more bourbon to thin it out. Also, couldn't find smokies or cocktail sausages, so I bought breakfast sausages and cut them in half - worked well, but my husband prefers the little guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The bourbon taste was too strong so I cooked on a little higher setting for an additional 10 minutes. These were pretty good, but nothing special. Not everything that's good has to be a 5-star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I use grape jelly instead of coctail sauce, and I can't find preztel sticks that are up to the task
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
As previous mentioned, wrap in bacon, have also used turkey dogs, all cut into 1/3 pcs, secure w toothpick and ziplock overnite, bake for 35- 40 min on a parchment lined sheet. Totally the bomb !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Even better wrapped in bacon ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Yummy! This is a great dish to throw together at a moment's notice, so it's handy to keep the ingredients around for drop-in guests or last minute get-togethers. My nine-year-old DEVOURS it, so I've been known to put it over rice, steam some broccoli, and call it dinner. I toss the sugar and cocktail sauce in my mini crockpot on low while I brown the sausages, then I deglaze with the bourbon for a few minutes (to get all the alcohol burned off) before I dump it all into the crockpot. Travels well like that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Super easy and Super good! Took anothers advise and cooked sausages in the skillet first browning slightly. Now the dilemma is which tastes better the ones made with Evan Williams or Jim Beam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a good recipe! I am a fan of bourbon, so naturally I liked this sauce. My husband isn't as much of a fan of bourbon, but he really liked this recipe, too! If you are having trouble with your sauce being too runny, make sure that you drain the bag of smokies before cooking them. Also, allow the recipe to simmer to burn off some of the liquid from the bourbon. I brought the sauce to a boil with the smokies to cook off the alcohol, and then put the burner on medium. When the sauce was the consistency that I liked, I put the burner on low and covered it with a lid until I was ready to serve the smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My bff made these for New Year's Eve using ketchup instead of chili sauce and meatballs instead of the sausages. I couldn't stop eating them and asked for the recipe, but forgot to write it down. I was excited to find this version. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I don'tknow what went wrong, but I made these just as written and the bourbon taste was so overwhelming no one liked them. Could not taste brown sugar or coctail sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States